On Being a Dreamer

Hello hello. I know that it has been a while – several months! There are good reasons for this – we have moved.

A few months ago, we sold our house, sold all of our stuff, took a trip across the country, and then moved far, far away. It has been both a liberating and a bit of a scary experience. I guess you could say it has been a moment of truth.

For more than a year and a half, Homey and I have been working on some crazy goals. We have been chasing dreams. Call it what you will. In all of it, we have been mindful of the Spirit through prayer, scripture study, temple attendance, fasting, and through careful study of our patriarchal blessings.

Sometimes I feel a little indulgent – in dreaming big, but I’ve come to believe that Heavenly Father wants us to dream big. After all, He has promised us Heaven if we are faithful. He has promised even more than that – to those who are faithful and covenant with Him – we can inherit all He has to offer us, including: “thrones, kingdoms, principalities, and powers, dominions, all heights and depths…” (See Doctrine and Covenants 132:19.)

I guess what I’m trying to say is – I’ve learned that I can’t “dream big” enough. Heavenly Father’s dreams surpass mine every day of the week. With this knowledge in mind, Homey and I are dreaming big. We are doing what we can to live to our fullest potential. We want to keep the law of consecration by creating a better life – for ourselves, our families, and others.

It has been quite a ride.

At first, when you embark on such a daring quest, it’s fun – it’s novel. You have a lot of steam. You feel buoyed up by the Lord and by the confirmations that He gives – that you are on the right path.

Like anything, though – such a journey must be met with adversity and trial. It’s a fact. It’s a law. Anything worthwhile requires a lot of hard work and probably a healthy amount of “risk.”

We have faced that, too.

Anyway – I don’t know what I’m trying to say her in this post. I guess I just want you – whoever reads this – to know that I’m still here. I’m still learning. I’m learning soooo much. I hope that I can share more of these stories at a future point.

I also want to say that I know that God is a “dreamer.” I know that He wants each of us to do great things with our lives. And, what’s even more amazing is that He has relationships with each of us, individually. He doesn’t expect each of us to be “great” in the eyes of the world. We aren’t all expected to become president. Christ, arguably the greatest to ever live on this earth, lived a simple life. He wore sandals, served others, and didn’t really have a home. The point is that it doesn’t necessarily matter what we do – what constitutes a great life is our willingness to live up to the measure of our creations. We can live up to the measure of our creation by assessing all of our time, talents, blessings, and abilities and then by using them to build God’s Kingdom.

I also want to say that I know this path isn’t always all that super-duper easy. It hasn’t been easy for Homey and Me. I know that the path to fulfillment and purpose isn’t easy for anyone on this earth. This is precisely why it is such an exciting and worthwhile path.

Although this path we’re on hasn’t been easy, it’s been amazing, and I’ve already been blessed beyond my understanding. I’ve seen miracles in my life. I’ve felt the power of God in my life. And I’m excited to keep on going.

Sunrise in Hawaii.

Sunrise in Hawaii.

On the road - the Vermillion Ciffs

On the road – the Vermillion Ciffs

Hawaiian sunset

Hawaiian sunset

Aloha!

Aloha!

Getting a Kiss from a Cow in Massachusetts

Getting a Kiss from a Cow in Massachusetts

On the Road - Yuccas in New Mexico

On the Road – Yuccas in New Mexico

Grandpa and Sasquatch

Grandpa and Sasquatch

World's End in Massachusetts

World’s End in Massachusetts

Massachusetts on the Fourth of July

Massachusetts on the Fourth of July

Fenway Park

Fenway Park

mmmm.....wawa hoagie....

mmmm…..wawa hoagie….

The George Washington Bridge

The George Washington Bridge

Fun on a ride in Hershey, PA

Fun on a ride in Hershey, PA

The Wasatch Front

The Wasatch Front

A Mountain Spring in Utah

A Mountain Spring in Utah

On the road...on the border of Eastern Colorado and Kansas

On the road…on the border of Eastern Colorado and Kansas

Goodbye home

Goodbye home

The view of Moab and red rocks from the La Sal Mountains

The view of Moab and red rocks from the La Sal Mountains

Somewhere on the road in New Mexico or Colorado

Somewhere on the road in New Mexico or Colorado

Hidden Valley Hike, Moab, Utah

Hidden Valley Hike, Moab, Utah

Where is your path taking you?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  September 23, 2015

    I can’t wait to hear more about what you are doing! What a fun post!!

    Reply
  2. Ann

     /  September 24, 2015

    Thanks Catania. Once again, your post is both inspired and inspiring. I am scared to dream. It’s something I have to actually work on. I realize one of my favorite things about you is that you dream. There’s room for one more dreamer in your land of dreams right? I’m going to join you. I’m going to start dreaming without hesitation, and letting The Lord know what my dreams are.

    Reply
    • Yeah! There is a ton of room. And you know, I think that you have what it takes. You are disciplined and smart. That is what it really takes to make dreams a reality. Some people are great at dreaming, but the rubber never really hits the road.

      Dreaming is the easy part. You are already killing it doing the hard part – which is working on the small things – day in and day out.

      So yeah – and the thing that I’ve found is – when you let the Lord in on these dreams, he will guide you. He wants us to be happy. And, the coolest thing is – there is a way to make our dreams dovetail with His work. That’s what I’m working on, anyway… 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
