Healing Words

I love the idea of Christ as our master healer. I think that it is because I have needed it so much in my life.

I have experienced self-inflicted wounds (through sin), I’ve experienced the pain that comes from the choices of another. Additionally, I’ve experienced the pain that accompanies our mortal lives.

So – pain that comes from our own sins – while it isn’t easy to deal with, it is a bit easier to accept (at least logically). I mean, we know that we do it to ourselves. We may not like it, but a+b=c and when we are in control of the equation, we can’t very well go around blaming others. (Even though we might). What I’m trying to say is – in relationship with the Atonement – it is obvious to me that the Atonement will heal us from the sins that we have committed.

This is a very sublime blessing, too. I don’t want to downplay that!

I love this quote and reminder from President Packer:

<3 Boyd K. Packer

❤ Boyd K. Packer

What I find especially comforting about this quote, and about the Atonement, is that it will heal all who follow Him, and that it heals us from so much more than our own sin caused self-inclicted wounds.

When I was in a bad marriage, years ago, and when I found out about my ex-husband’s double life, I found myself grappling with how to heal. It was the Atonement that enabled me to pick up the pieces of a sham of a marriage, find healing, and eventually meet and marry Homey.

So – the Atonement can heal us from the sins of others. What a blessing. How many of us suffer because of the choice another person made? It isn’t fair, but the Atonement will help to make up for that unfairness.

Finally, what I really love, when I think about this quote and the Atonement – is how the Atonement can heal us when we suffer the trials of mortality. I mean the ones that aren’t directly caused by any one thing or person. These trials are real, and they are often so hard to deal with.

For example, a few years ago, my younger brother passed away. He died in a freak accident. There is no one to blame. He didn’t do something stupid. He didn’t commit a sin that would then potentially cause death. His death was not the result of another’s poor decision.

It was an accident.

It was one of those characteristic moments of mortality. (They are always so much easier to deal with and appreciate when they are someone else’s characteristic moment.)

These “moments” are experienced by all of us. Perhaps they might not be as drastic as death. But we get sick. We get hurt. We see loved ones die. And it is hard to understand why this is happening.

The Atonement may not always answer why we must go through these experiences, but it will heal us. And what else can offer that? There is potential for justice (and supposed healing) when I think of righting my own sins or when someone else sins against me. But when it is just life being life, we can’t go after anyone for justice. We can’t find healing by “righting a wrong.” There was no wrong committed to right. Healing can seem impossible.

Yet we can be healed of these difficulties and pains, and it is through the Master Healer, Jesus Christ. If we will turn to Him, then He will always heal us.

He will heal us when even when we rebel against Him and sin.

He will heal us when another person’s selfish choice hurts us.

He will heal us when there is no one but nature to blame.

Jesus pleads:

“O all ye that are spared because ye were more righteous than they, will ye not now return unto me, and repent of your sins, and be converted, that I may heal you?” – 3 Nephi 9:13, emphasis added

I’m so grateful for the reminder that, if I will simply turn to Christ, then He will heal me. I know that He will heal you, too.

***
How have you felt the healing power of the Atonement in your life?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
