12 Days of Joy – Running and Pasta

So, here’s a two-fer, but it is actually a three-fer because I posted earlier today (for Friday)…

Running

One thing I like about running.

One thing I like about running.


So…yesterday I felt joy in my life during my run.

This is easier said than done, I have to admit. I’ve been running for a while–off and on (off while pregnant/nursing, then I try to get back “on”). I like feeling the runner’s high, and I like the accomplishment that accompanies a good run. I also love listening to music and being outside. Running covers all of these things for me.

Recently, I decided to sign up for the Phoenix Marathon. It was mostly out of stubbornness, and it might be one of the stupider things I’ve done to be difficult. I’ve run a marathon before, and it is so long. I’m not sure if my body is up to it.

But I signed up, and now my brother signed up, so I’ll be running a marathon in March- which means I’m training for a marathon now.

Even though the runs are hard, they bring me joy. I love the feeling of accomplishment I get when I run. It is really hard. I look forward when my runs are only an hour or so long, but for now, these longer runs are good–just look at the view. πŸ™‚

Pasta and Friends

Homemade Pasta with old friends.

Homemade Pasta with old friends.


So, here’s a picture of my pasta roller. Tonight, I had an old friend- Noell – over for dinner (she was my roommate in college!). I meant to take a picture of her, but, alas, I forgot!!!

So, it was another great day of good food and great company. Tonight when Noell came over, I felt like Alma when he saw Ammon and the other sons of Mosiah – she is still my sister in the Lord. (See Alma 17:2.)

We caught up, laughed, and made pasta. I’ve never made pasta before, so I’m glad that she was patient as I tried out something totally new. I really should have planned better because I get so sidetracked when I’m trying to simultaneously cook and entertain. I can’t multi-task! Luckily nothing caught on fire.

Bonus

I’ve been feeling more joy as a mother lately. I’m so grateful for this gift. I’ll let you in on a secret – if you are a mother, then you are surrounded by joy, but you have to choose to see it.

The T-Rex is smiling and sleeping. I love this little boy.

The T-Rex is smiling and sleeping. I love this little boy.

The T-Rex is a two year old boy (he’ll be three in a few weeks), and he’s into everything. He is also the youngest of four, and my only boy. He might be on the spoiled side. It is a temptation to be frustrated by him. He has mood swings, he is active, and he loves to destroy so many things.

Yesterday, he was using a long toy as a weapon to smash one of his other smaller toys (a motorcycle). As he was doing this, it seemed like his motorcycle would break. Not only that, but the noise created by all of his smashing was quite grating.

At first impulse, I wanted to yell for him to stop doing what he was doing. I could have done that, and it would have gone something like this:

“Please stop hitting your motorcycle.” (He would have looked at me, then very deliberately start hitting the motorcycle again, while I was still looking.
“Please stop hitting your motorcyle,” I’d probably plead. And he’d go back to hitting.
“T-REX! You need to listen to me, and you need to stop.” I’d be yelling by now. He’d go back to his game of crushing the motorcycle, and I might either give up, or start reading him a book, or force him to play outside with the dog.

But it didn’t go this way. When he started to smash his motorcycles, and I looked over at him annoyed, something softened in me. I saw a huge grin on his face, and I watched him as he hit the motorcyles. He wasn’t trying to break them or be destructive, he was watching them flip in the air. He smiled as he watched physics in action.

I decided to smile, too.

And I’m glad I did, I felt a moment of intense joy as he played. I was also reminded, once again, that these experiences won’t last much longer, and I should simply enjoy everything about my little ones–even when they’re doing something that I find so annoying. πŸ™‚

***
So, that’s it. I’m caught up. What brings you joy?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
