Handmade Gospel Book for Youth–Integrity and Virtue (Parts 8 and 9)

These are the eighth and ninth parts of a book I made for my daughter’s 12th birthday. You can also see Part One (Introduction and About the book), Part Two (Faith), Part Three (Divine Nature), Part Four (Individual Worth), and Part 5 (Knowledge), Part Six (Choice and Accountability), and Part Seven (Good Works).

Integrity

The next section of the book I made for Tiger had to do with Integrity. Again, I grouped a few of the concepts taught in For the Strength of the Youth in this section.

Language

The Importance of what We Say.

The Importance of what We Say.


On these pages, I wrote about the power of language. Language is one of those things that can either be really great or pretty terrible–it depends on how we use it. I also reminded Tiger that we can’t control what others say, and we can provide a good example to others. I think that we live in a time when people don’t seem to care about what they say. We hear people curse, gossip, say the Lord’s name in vain, make threats, and joke about sacred things. Often, we brush it off, it’s just a joke, or they are only words, but we must remember what Paul teaches “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but only that which is good…and edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.” (Ephesians 4:29)

A Self-Test

Elder Uchtdorf's Self Test.

President Uchtdorf’s Self Test.


This page is a self-test about negative speaking/gossip that President Uchtdorf gave during a recent General Conference. This page also includes what we can do instead.

Integrity 1

Isn't Elder Bednar the Best? And isn't this house cute?

Isn’t Elder Bednar the Best? And isn’t this house cute?


I actually have three layouts that deal with Integrity. For this first one, I drew a picture that was based (heavily) on this illustration. (Note: Usually I like to be more creative and copy less, but I found myself pressed for time with this project, and I wanted to get it done before Tiger turned 12…so I kind of copied stuff…oh well…better than nothing!). The quote that I included is from Elder Bednar. I like it!

Integrity 2

An Integrity "assignment" that actually helps Tiger to finish a value experience!

An Integrity “assignment” that actually helps Tiger to finish a value experience!


I was having trouble coming up with a good layout for Integrity. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to say. As I thought about it, I was led to the first Value Experience for Integrity. I decided to make a little bit of a “worksheet” with questions and prompts for Tiger. When she finishes this, she will have finished the first value experience for Integrity!

Integrity 3

Pretty wise words!

Pretty wise words!


I know that this isn’t a quote from a GA, but I don’t care because I love it! This is just one of the most succinct explanations of integrity, and I felt like it would help Tiger to really understand what integrity is–and how it is different than honesty. So…thank you Oprah for some wise words!

Virtue

Virtue

First, can I just say how much I love that the value Virtue was added, and that the Value Project is to read the Book of Mormon? I can’t believe that we weren’t reading the Book of Mormon as a requirement for Personal Progress in the first place!!!

I love Elaine Dalton!

I love Elaine Dalton!


This layout explaining Virtue is a quote from Elain S. Dalton. Don’t you love her???!!! Also, the picture I drew was heavily inspired by something I saw online, but I can’t find the page.

Dating

Dating...duh duh duuuuuuhhhhhh...

Dating…duh duh duuuuuuhhhhhh…


Even though Tiger shouldn’t be dating until she’s 16, I felt like I should absolutely include some thoughts on this subject in the book. I took this chance to let her know that it is okay and appropriate for her to start thinking about boys, but that she will have time to have experiences with boys, dating, and other things that seem like fun in the future. I advised her to listen to what the prophets have taught. This is a time for her to have fun, discover herself, and prepare for the future–rather than get wrapped up in a relationship with a boy.

Modesty

Esther vs. Jared's Daughter...

Esther vs. Jared’s Daughter…


The layout for Modesty is actually four pages (two layouts). I feel that modesty is incredibly important–especially at the age of 12. I know that the decisions she makes now will shape the choices she makes in a few years. I want her to be mindful of the power of modesty. A while ago, I wrote a talk and blog post on the subject. Up to this point, Tiger has made it a commitment to be modest. I hope that she will always choose this.

Music and Dancing 1

More advice!!!

More advice!!!


I love music, and honestly the consumption of music and other media can be difficult for me to choose the right. I haven’t always done so. But I’ve changed and have become much pickier about what I consume, and I can see how it has blessed my life to do so. I encourage Tiger to also be very careful about her music and dancing. They really do impact us.

Music and Dancing 2

The Song of the Heart

The Song of the Heart


One of my favorite scriptures.

Purity

Purity: it seems a little advanced for a 12 year old, but it is so important.

Purity: it seems a little advanced for a 12 year old, but it is so important.


In this layout, I’m much more open about keeping the law of chastity and how remaining pure will bless Tiger’s life. The idea of purity is scoffed at. It is considered “old fashioned.” There are many feminists who decry purity. The thing is, they are wrong. Purity is of utmost importance. It will help us to be happy. It will help us have the Spirit. I know that we need to encourage our daughters (and sons) to be pure.

***
Well, there you go. This covers Integrity and Virtue. I will have one more post with the final pages of the journal. Thanks for checking it out! Have you been working on something like this? If so, let me know! Any ideas?! 🙂

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Chandra

     /  October 16, 2013

    I think that this is something you should submit to Deseret Books – just redo the pages on seperate art pages for printing. It’s unique and awesome, and I think they love that kind of thing for youth. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth (Final) | That Good Part
  2. Handmade Gospel and Art Book for My 12-Year-Old – About and Introduction (Part 1) | That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
