The Atonement and Your Personal Relationship with Christ

Last year, our newly called General Relief Society President gave a talk at the Relief Society Broadcast titled, Is Faith in the Atonement of Jesus Christ Written in our Hearts? During Sister Burton’s talk, she gave three principles of the Atonement that would help us increase faith in Jesus Christ. The three principles included:

One: All that is unfair about life can be made right through the Atonement of Jesus Christ.
Two: There is power in the Atonement to enable us to overcome the natural man or woman and become true disciples of Jesus Christ.
Three: The Atonement is the greatest evidence we have of the Father’s love for His children.

When I listened to the talk, I felt an immediate rush of gratitude and love for this new Relief Society President. Personally, I loved Sister Beck (Sister Burton’s predecessor), and I couldn’t really imagine loving another Relief Society President so much. But she gave this powerful talk which confirmed to me that she was the new General Relief Society President–called by God. I was grateful for both the witness and the talk she gave. It was just what I needed. (Isn’t that always the way?!)

After the conference, I talked to a friend about the Atonement. She suggested I do a “scripture study series” on the Atonement. I laughed it off…I mean all of the scriptures are about the Atonement. The task seemed impossible! Even though I knew I couldn’t do a scripture study series on the Atonement, I also knew that there was something I should work on…

A friend of mine -who is a Relief Society President – sent me an email shortly after the Relief Society Broadcast. I will share a part of it with you here, (I hope that she doesn’t mind!)

“Did you just love the RS meeting Saturday night? I thought it was amazing and realized I need to strengthen my testimony in the areas Sister Burton talked about. The question I went away with was about the first principle of the Atonement she spoke of, that all that is unfair about life can and will be made right through the Atonement. Can that be true during this life or is it meant to be looked at in an eternal perspective? I have complete faith that it will be taken care of after this life. I’m not there for this life though and sometimes it makes me feel unfaithful. I see so much trouble and pain in my calling as I work with the sisters in our ward, that I can’t see how it can be solved in this life. It would take a miracle. And then I think well, that’s what I should have faith in, that she (the generic, composite she) will let God make a miracle in their life, that she will follow gospel principles, that she will get her act together through the power of Jesus Christ. But the odds are not in her favor at all. Drug use, bad choices, ignorance, a lifetime of bad habits, mental illness etc. It is all stacked against her. I have faith that the atonement can fix those things, but there’s so much personal participation required, I guess that’s where the disconnect lies. Any thoughts?

I saw Sister Burton’s talk as a personal challenge; not just to strengthen others testimony of those principles, but really work on my own.”

When I read this email, especially this part, it galvanized what I was feeling as I watched the talk Sister Burton gave. It gave me even more insight. I know that in a way, I trust that the Atonement is powerful. Yet I reassessed my faith. Do I have faith–even of a mustard seed? What do I really know about the Atonement. Do I truly understand and even trust the three principles that Sister Burton gave? How can I strengthen my faith and testimony–not only of Christ–but of His infinite Atonement?

At about the same time, I had started on a project–creating a Scripture Study Companion of the New Testament. While working on this, it hit me. As a part of the scripture study companion, I would create exercises for each chapter of the New Testament that included an in-depth study of the Atonement. I had this feeling (and I still do) that everything in Christ’s life can teach us about the Atonement…sometimes it takes a little probing, but we can learn more.

The point of all of this is to invite you to also complete this course of Study: The Atonement and Your Personal Relationship with Christ.

The Atonement and Your Personal Relationship with Christ

The Atonement and Your Personal Relationship with Christ


You can find the assignments in each chapter of the Scripture Study Companions that I’ve published. They can be downloaded for free and are available in various formats.
Click here to download the New Testament Study Companion: Matthew
Click here to download the New Testament Study Companion: Mark

Luke and John will be coming soon.

I will be writing a couple of times a week here on my blog–about my own study experiences. I will include the exercise/assignment. And my own thoughts. I’d love it if you studied and also shared your own insights. I’m hoping that we can follow Sister Burton’s charge to better understand the Atonement and have this knowledge written on our hearts so our faith and love in Christ can be strengthened and we can be strengthened as we navigate the trials of our lives.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. From Richard G. Scott’s April 2010 General Conference address:
    There is an imperative need for each of us to strengthen our understanding of the significance of the Atonement of Jesus Christ so that it will become an unshakable foundation upon which to build our lives. As the world becomes more devoid of foundational standards and as honor, virtue, and purity are increasingly cast aside in the pursuit of appetite, our understanding of and faith in the Atonement of Jesus Christ will provide strength and capacity needed for a successful life. It will also bring confidence in times of trial and peace in moments of turmoil.

    I energetically encourage you to establish a personal study plan to better understand and appreciate the incomparable, eternal, infinite consequences of Jesus Christ’s perfect fulfillment of His divinely appointed calling as our Savior and Redeemer. Profound personal pondering of the scriptures accompanied by searching, heartfelt prayer will fortify your understanding of and appreciation for His priceless Atonement. Another powerful way to learn of Jesus Christ and His Atonement is through consistent temple attendance.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the quote! This is perfect. It is amazing how everything comes back to the Atonement. When it comes to studying the scriptures, life, etc, it’s about the Atonement. I know that this seems like a big “duh,” but…it’s easy to kind of forget. I get a little wrapped up in my own life, and then when I think of the way to solve the problems, the answer is always the same: learn more about the Atonement.

      Anyway…thanks again for the quote. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Do you have the other books study guides available yet? This is exactly what I am looking for and was so excited to find your site and would love to see the other guides to help further my study.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment, and I’m glad that the study guides are helping. 🙂 So far, Matthew and Mark are available. I took a break during the summer, but am now back on track, and I think that Luke will be available in a couple of weeks or so. Then John will probably be done a month-6 weeks after that. Please check back soon. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
