Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Individual Worth (Part 4)

This is the fourth part of the gospel book for my daughter that will be turning twelve later this year. You can also see Part One (Introduction and About), Part Two (Faith), and Part Three (Divine Nature).

Individual Worth

This book is following the format of the Young Women’s theme, so the next value is Individual Nature. Additionally, in this section, I’ve found some of the standards from For the Strength of the Youth that seem associated with Individual Worth. I hope you enjoy this sneak peak!

Individual Worth

A few thoughts on what Individual Worth actually means.

A few thoughts on what Individual Worth actually means.


These two pages are about what individual worth is. I’m not sure I actually understood it when I was a teenager. I definitely had a hard time really understanding the difference between divine nature and individual worth.

Really, I think that they work in tandem. Divine nature = we are children of God. Individual worth = He loves us. We are valuable to Him.

I wanted Tiger to understand that she is valuable. So much of the world tells us the exact opposite. I mean, advertising is all about exploiting our doubts so that we buy a product that will make us happier, thinner, prettier, hairier, less hairy, taller, better smelling people with really bright, shiny, white teeth.

While I’m not really against many products (I like smelling good, for example), I do not agree with the messages that we are surrounded by. Additionally, I wanted Tiger to remember that she is talented, spiritual, happy, and loved. I think that when we understand our individual worth, we become more confident. We also can endure trials better because we are secure in the love Heavenly Father has for us and we know that it will be for our good.

Friends 1

A cute quote on friendship.

A cute quote on friendship.

Another angle of the same layout.  Glittery and pretty!

Another angle of the same layout. Glittery and pretty!


The next two pages are a pretty picture…heavily influenced by this painting. I’m not one who usually likes to “copy”, but I’m trying to be realistic about this book for Tiger. I have a lot going on in my life right now. I want it to be cute. And I know that if I try to come up with completely original content for every single page, then I won’t finish this book until she’s 26. So…I’m kind of borrowing a lot of ideas… 🙂

Oh – and the quote says, “Nothing but Heaven itself is better than a friend who is really a friend.” – Plautus.

Friends 2

A little advice about friends.

A little advice about friends.


In these pages, I wrote to Tiger about the blessing of friends. I wanted her to know that friends are good and she should pursue these relationships. Often, we focus so much on family, I think that we forget the value of friends.

I pointed out a scripture from 2 Nephi…where Lehi was speaking to Zoram:

“And now, Zoram, I speak unto you: Behold, thou art the servant of Laban; nevertheless, thou hast been brought out of the land of Jerusalem, and I know that thou art a true friend unto my son, Nephi, forever.” – 2 Nephi 1:30

I love this scripture because we often think of Nephi going it alone. We think of how he was treated by his brothers. There is a lot we don’t know about Nephi, but this blessing given to Zoram is a small insight. Even though Nephi had some pretty mean brothers, the Lord had blessed Nephi with a true friend.

I feel like our friends are an important part of who we become – especially in our teen years. I want Tiger to choose to find friends who will be true friends – that will help her, have fun, learn from her, teach her, and respect her.

Work

The importance of Work...a Good Reminder.

The importance of Work…a Good Reminder.


In this set of pages, I wrote to Tiger about the value of work. Sometimes, it is easy to overlook this principle. I think that a lot of people value professional work, but not all kinds of work. We should learn to value all forms of work – whether it is in a job, dishes, or even a “work out”.

Personal progress will help to give her experiences where she will have to work hard in order to learn and complete the requirements for the program. It is a good experience with work.

Work is a deeply satisfying thing, but often not until we are finished (or close to it). It is so hard to remember that because work also typically requires some kind of sacrifice. I hope that Tiger will learn to work and see the blessings that it brings into her life.

Work 2

Balancing everything is an important part of work.

Balancing everything is an important part of work.


Finally, I made a layout talking about the importance of balance in our lives. This is a principle that should be taught with work. If we work too hard or inefficiently, then we lose strength, time, and we may not even obtain the goal we are looking for. Balance helps us to prioritize and find happiness in the work we do.

I found an article at lds.org about balancing things in our life, and adapted it for this layout. I gave her eight tips: establishing priorities, setting attainable goals, budgeting wisely, building relationships, studying the scriptures, taking care of yourself, living the gospel, and praying always.

***
Well…I’m making real progress on the book. I like it. I’m sure that it is helping me more than it will help her. Next up will be knowledge! Check in later to see it.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  February 1, 2013

    It’s so fun to see this grow. Your first post encouraged me to do something for my son who turns 12 in March. It will be different (he’s a boy), but the idea is the same. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. You already know that I adore this book of yours! 😀 Still working on a faithbook of my own. 😀

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on karen alyse – unconditionally me and commented:
    Oh my goodness! This is AMAZING!!!!!! 😀

    Reply
  1. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Part 3 « That Good Part
  2. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth–Knowledge (Part 5) | That Good Part
  3. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Choice and Accountability and Good Works (Parts 6 and 7) | That Good Part
  4. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth–Integrity and Virtue (Parts 8 and 9) | That Good Part
  5. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth (Final) | That Good Part
  6. Handmade Gospel and Art Book for My 12-Year-Old – About and Introduction (Part 1) | That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
