I Pray in Faith – Craft for Kids

Well…my newest calling is Sunbeam teacher. While I won’t bore you with all of the things we did yesterday (actually, yesterday’s class was mildly entertaining), I thought that I would share activities or crafts that we do from time to time.

Five Parts of a Prayer Craft for Kids

Five Parts of a Prayer Craft for Kids

This craft will help a child remember the five parts of a prayer.

Materials Needed

  • White Paper (Even though it isn’t in this picture, I ended up writing “I Pray in Faith” at the top of the paper – horizontally
  • Stamping ink
  • Word strips with the following:
    • Say “Dear Heavenly Father”
    • Thank Him for Blessings
    • Humbly ask for blessings
    • In the name of Jesus Christ
    • Amen
  • Glue

Instructions for making this Craft
This craft is pretty much self-explanatory, but here are a few things to remember while making it.

  1. Give each child a paper. Show the one that you have made in advance – and introduce the craft. This will remind us of the five main parts of a prayer.
  2. Ink the children’s hands and stamp onto the paper. I stamped the kids hands one at a time. In order to keep interest, they got to choose color, and we oohed and aahed after each hand had been stamped.
  3. Immediately wipe the ink from the child’s hands.
  4. Glue each word strip on. But explain the word strip. Have them repeat what each word strip says. I made these word strips in advance – and I just used little scraps of paper that I already had. I put glue on the back of the word strip, then let the child affix it on the paper. I also asked them specific questions: What they were grateful for, and what kinds of blessings that they asked for, etc.
  5. Wrap up the craft and discussion by singing I Pray in Faith – especially the second verse.

This craft would be great as part of a prayer-themed FHE. It also fits perfectly into the Fourth Sunbeam Lesson – I can Pray to Heavenly Father

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You are amazing and I know these kids will love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
