Rusty (Part 7 of the HaM Love Story)

This is part seven of the Homey and Me Love Story. It is when I was a going to college, long before I met Homey, but an important part of the story, nonetheless.

Exactly one week after Snoopy’s visit up to Ogden, I was with my friends at a Hockey Game. Weber State vs. San Jose State. It was a good game.

A friend, Shoeless, and I prepped for the game by watching the same episode of Pee Wee’s Playhouse five times in a row. (The one where zizzybalooba is the “secret word”). It was hilarious to us. Now that I think about it, there is a good chance that he found it funny because he was high. My friend and roommate, Spunky, was totally annoyed, but we charmed her into dealing with us by explaining that we were just trying to get psyched for the hockey game.

Shoeless was an Ogden native, but lived in the dorms. Before the game, he went back to his dorm to find his roommate. My roommates and I were going to meet up with Shoeless and a few of his roomies at the game. We waited in our seats for Shoeless, but he never showed. We were only slightly annoyed, but got over it quickly (we didn’t need them to have fun!). Of course, this was all before the common cell phone era (1997, yo!), so there was no telling why Shoeless had ditched us.

The game was…interesting…the officials showed up late. Well, the true officials never showed up, so they had to call in back-ups. The game was brutal. I have never seen so many penalty minutes served in a game. I brought a sign that I had made which said, “Ha! Ha!” and my friends and I parked ourselves behind the visitor’s penalty box. We’d hold up the sign and heckle the perp (saying Ha Ha a la Nelson from Simpson’s) anytime SJState players were sent to serve a penalty.

To encourage fans to be loud, there was a woman – walking around giving away tee-shirts. She only had one or two. I was determined to get one. I noticed this guy, a very attractive guy, dancing with her.

I said to my friends, “What a jerk! He isn’t even being that great of a fan, but he’s probably going to win the shirt because he’s hot and he’s dancing with that lady.”
It irritated all of us that this unknown hot guy would manipulate his cuteness for a shirt, so we began heckling the him. Our tactics weren’t meant to win the shirt…only to express our annoyance. However, we ended up winning shirts! And, to boot, WSU won the game!

After the game, my friends and I all headed out to Denny’s. I had to go to the bathroom, and what do you know. The guy that was dancing with the tee-shirt lady was there! Instinct took over, and I heckled, “Ha ha! I got the shirt!”

He seemed to know exactly what I was talking about, and was really nice about it.
“Awesome! I saw you at the game.”
We started talking. He was even cuter close up. I found out that he was at Denny’s with two of his guy friends…and I invited him to come and sit with us. I made my way back to the table to tell my friends what had happened. We were all going crazy. We didn’t know if they would come to our table, but we were pretty excited. Before you know it, he was there, with his other friends, and we were making plans to go back to his place to hang out and watch movies.

His name was Rusty. I was instantly attracted to him. He was tall, with dark curly hair, dark eyes, and a magnetic smile. He was fun and charismatic. We had a really fun night. By the end of the night, he took my hat, and had made plans to go on a hike the next day. I was…stoked.

We went on a hike then watched movies with friends at my dorm. He gave me his phone number, and asked for mine. I found out that he had served a mission in St. Louis, was from Ogden, and was going to Weber State and taking institute classes. I was completely interested in him.

A few days later, he called again, and we had another group date. Pretty soon we were going to hockey games, meeting up for lunch, seeing movies, and…well…we were dating. It wasn’t long before Rusty and I had become exclusive. By then, we were skipping parties and group dates to spend time with each other. I went away to California for a weekend, and missed him.

By Christmas time, I had driven (and wrecked!) his car. And he had told me that he loved me.

It was a whirlwind.

All along, I thought to myself, “Wow…look at the Lord’s timing. If I hadn’t ‘ended’ things with Snoopy, I wouldn’t have opened myself to Rusty.” As much as giving up Snoopy had been hard, it wasn’t all that hard with a new, fun, cute guy in the picture. I went home for Christmas, and Rusty and I called each other. I wrote him a letter or two. While on Christmas break, I actually I went out with Snoopy – to a Flyer’s game – with Yoda and Freckles. I didn’t think too much about Snoopy – even though he was sitting right next to me. It was all about Rusty all the time. I was happy to have moved on, and a little nervous for my own future.

After winter break, I came back to Utah, and I was so happy to see Rusty. Perhaps a little too happy. I have to admit (and I hate doing so), but we had gotten a little too physical. As a Mormon, I had covenanted and committed to staying morally clean before marriage. Now, I didn’t have sex with Rusty, but we also didn’t keep our passions in check. It was a strain to our relationship, but, I have to admit, that at first the strain was difficult to detect. I mean, we were only acting out what seemed natural, and we had missed each other, and we loved each other. The intensity that came with physical closeness was something that was hard to ignore, but, as time would tell, I should have done more to keep my passions bridled.

Soon, life was pretty much all Rusty all the time. I saw him before classes, after classes, before work, after work. He was a fixture at my dorms, and I had quickly become close to his friends and family. I was young, and had never been so in love with someone like this. I didn’t know what would happen, but I could sense that our relationship was reaching a point that was pretty definitive. I wasn’t too scared about it, either.

Life was a tornado.

***
Click here for part 8.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Kasey

     /  January 15, 2013

    I finally came over to read our HAM love story and you left me hanging with “life was a tornado!” Torture!

    Reply
  1. Closing the Door (Part 6 of the HaM Love Story) | That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
