Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Part 2

This is the second part of the gospel book I’m making for my daughter who will be twelve next summer. You can see part one here.

Faith

For the second major part of this book, I concentrated on Faith. Before starting this group, I studied a little bit about faith – what I wanted my daughter to understand about it. I tried to remember that she is turning 12 – I wanted to gear it toward her age. I also found a few of the standards from For the Strength of the Youth that could be grouped with Faith.

Faith I

A few thoughts about Faith.


These pages speak about faith in general terms. I thought back to when I was twelve. I couldn’t remember what I thought or knew about faith. I’m pretty sure that when I thought of faith, I thought of the object lesson where someone falls backwards – hoping that their friend will catch them.

I quoted Alma 32:21, and encouraged Tiger to memorize it. Then, I explained a little bit about the scripture. Finally, I encouraged her to do what she could to cultivate her faith.

Faith II

An Illustration of Alma’s lesson on a seed of faith.

In this layout, I wanted to help Tiger understand Alma 32, where Alma likens faith to a seed. I included eight steps: Experiment upon the word, plant a seed in your heart, a good seed will swell, the seed will sprout if it is good, the seed will grow and knowledge replaces faith, exercise more faith to nurture your testimony, if you neglect the tree it dies, and diligence brings for fruit.

The Plan of Salvation

Illustrated Plan of Salvation Part One

Illustration of the Plan of Salvation – Part Two

Illustrated plan of Salvation – Part three

Illustrated Plan of Salvation – Part Four

The Next four layouts (eight pages) are all about the plan of salvation. I had fun with this. In fact, when I was working on this, it spawned the idea I had to do a scripture study series on the Plan of Salvation. I felt compelled to teach about this divine plan because when we understand it, we can be on a path that will help us to better understand our own specific purposes on this earth.

Sabbath Day

Sabbath Day Importance and Activity Ideas


In this layout, I included my own feelings about the Sabbath day. I also wrote down some good ideas of things to do on a Sabbath day.

Sacrament Meeting

My Favorite Sacrament Hymn and Thoughts on Sacrament Meeting


Sabbath day and Sacrament Meeting are closely related, but I wanted the two to have their own complete layouts. In this layout, about Sacrament meeting, I shared with my daughter a powerful experience I had at a baptism – and how that translated into my increased understanding of sacrament meeting. I also included the lyrics to one of my all-time favorite sacrament hymns: Jesus Once of Humble Birth.

Gratitude Challenge

The Gratitude Challenge: The ten places on earth and Modern-day Inventions I’m grateful for.

The Gratitude Challenge the ten physical abilities, material possessions, things about today, foods, and things about the gospel I’m grateful for … plus a scripture.

I took the gratitude challenge and included it in this layout. Fun!

More on Gratitude

Ways to have gratitude in your heart.


I feel like gratitude is important, so I used it for two layouts (four pages total). In this layout, I included a quote from President Monson: “To express gratitude is gracious and honorable, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live with gratitude ever in our hearts is to touch heaven.”

On the next page, I wrote a fun list of things to do that will help us to have gratitude in our hearts.

Go Forward with Faith

Encouragement to press forward with faith.

On this layout, I drew a cute picture that was heavily inspired (read: basically copied) by Judy Kaufman. Then, on the next page, I wrote a page about pressing forward with faith. It is kind of like a letter/note. I included this inspiring quote: “To help you become all that the Lord wants you to become, kneel each morning and night in prayer to your Father in Heaven. Express to Him your gratitude and the desires of your heart. He is the source of all wisdom. He will answer your prayers. His answers will seldom come while you are on your knees praying. Even when you may plead for an immediate response. Rather, He will prompt you in the quiet moments when the Spirit can most effectively touch your mind and heart. You should find quiet times to recognize when you are being instructed and strengthened. Be thankful that God lets you struggle for a long time before that answer comes.” – Richard G. Scott.

This quote was basically the inspiration for the entire layout.

***
So – that’s it for faith. Check in later, for the next section based on Divine Nature.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. em mil

     /  November 2, 2012

    This is A.MAZ.ING. She is going to love it! (Warning: you may have to mass-produce this:)) Your blog posts seriously inspire my scripture study. Even though I have a hard time keeping up on your blog regularly, when I catch up I’m blown away by your degree of thoughtfulness and ability to break down basic Gospel principles. THANK YOU for this blog!!

    Reply
    • Well, thanks! I’m pretty sure that I’ll be making books for each of my kids, and I’ve thought that it would be awesome if I could make one of these for – like – Deseret Books…;)

      Reply
  1. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Part 3 « That Good Part
  2. Handmade Gospel and Art Book for My 12-Year-Old – About and Introduction (Part 1) « That Good Part
  3. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Individual Worth (Part 4) « That Good Part
  4. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth–Knowledge (Part 5) | That Good Part
  5. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth – Choice and Accountability and Good Works (Parts 6 and 7) | That Good Part
  6. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth–Integrity and Virtue (Parts 8 and 9) | That Good Part
  7. Handmade Gospel Book for Youth (Final) | That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
