What are Mormon Women Like?

First of all, to get a small idea of what Mormon Women are like, watch this short video.

Lately, in my life, it seems like there has been a lot of talk about Mormonism and women. It has been in the media; people blog about Mormons – and women, especially, relentlessly; the Missionary Age change has allowed for women to serve missions at the age of 19. Mormon women: it’s a hot topic.

What are Mormon Women Like?

I will just answer this question with a list.
Mormon women are:

  • like women everywhere
  • nurturing
  • ambitious
  • kind
  • pretty…(seriously, I’m always astounded at how each woman I’ve met at church is beautiful.)
  • smart
  • healthy
  • at times, overwhelmed
  • striving
  • seekers
  • teachers
  • able
  • confident in themselves and in the Savior
  • sometimes afraid – and I find that when I am afraid, it is my testimony in Christ that helps me to be confident again
  • creative
  • peaceful
  • imperfect
  • kind
  • accepting
  • Daughters of God

There are more qualities that come to mind, but I want this post to be more than a list!

I have had the opportunity to know Mormon women my whole entire life. It is has been a blessing to me. I truly know what Mormon women are like. I know that we are like most other women: desirous to improve every single day. We want to be happy. We want to bring happiness to the ones we love.

In The Family: A Proclamation to the World, we learn about women.

“ALL HUMAN BEINGS—male and female—are created in the image of God. Each is a beloved spirit son or daughter of heavenly parents, and, as such, each has a divine nature and destiny. Gender is an essential characteristic of individual premortal, mortal, and eternal identity and purpose.”

I am a daughter.

Mormon women, all women, are daughters of God. When we understand this, it implies that we have a divine nature. He loves us. We are His children. We have been His daughters even before we came to this earth. He loves as we are – as women.

This is easy for me to believe and to relate to. As a parent, I have been blessed with three daughters and a son. I have love for each of them. I can see that my husband also loves each of them with all of his heart. Daughters are pretty special.

Mormon Women know that we are Daughters of our Heavenly Father who loves us, and we love Him.

When the woman with the issue of blood touched the hem of Christ’s garment and was healed, he wanted to know who had touched him. She revealed herself, and his response to her was, “Daughter, be of good comfort: thy faith hath made thee whole; go in peace.” –Luke 8:48 Honestly, there are times when I forget that I’m a daughter of God. There are times when I get distracted and discouraged. The world around us – as positive of a message that they can try to send to women – can never seem to satisfy my soul the way that knowing I am a daughter of God, and that He loves me can.

As we, Mormon women and daughters, experience this nurturing love we receive from Heavenly Father, we desire to extend it to others. Mormon women are nurturers. I have to admit, I love this concept. I want to really explain what I mean by being a nurturer. As nurturers, we provide the climate for growth. We help our families, friends, children, spouses, and ourselves grow. As nurturers, mormon women elevate others. I take very seriously my responsibility to nurture, and I find that if I’m successful in creating a nurturing environment, not only am I able to rejoice in the accomplishment of those I serve, but I, too, am nurtured. A good, nurturing environment will promote growth for everyone, myself included.

Do Mormons believe in equality of men and women?

YES!

Again, from the proclamation:

“In these sacred responsibilities, fathers and mothers are obligated to help one another as equal partners.”

Men and women, husbands and wives, mothers and fathers, daughters and sons are equal partners involved in God’s work.

I like to think of it this way – God has a work to do. In the scriptures, we learn:

“For behold, this is my work and my glory—to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man.” – Moses 1:39

So, according to God, himself, His work is to bring to pass our immortality and eternal life. This is no small task.

In order to complete this work, Heavenly Father made a plan – the Plan of Salvation. He created the earth, sent Adam and Eve into the garden, and allowed them to freely choose to partake of the fruit of the tree of Knowledge. As a result of their choice, he provided a Savior. This is how God’s work is completed.

But he needs a little assistance.

In order for His work to progress, he gave Adam and Eve a commandment – to multiply and replenish the earth. (See Genesis 1:28.) He also gave them specific duties: Eve was the mother of all living (long before she became a mother!) and Adam was authorized to hold the Priesthood of God and preside with the priesthood in his family. Additionally, they received special challenges associated with their roles: Eve would bear children in sorrow. Adam would procure means to sustain his family by the sweat of his brow. The blessings and challenges associated with each role is equally important. Neither one of them trumps the duties of another. The roles and duties of men and women are complementary – they are parts of a greater sum. Together, men and women add up to help bring about God’s eternal purposes. As we work together, we also begin to experience the love and blessings that God has for each of us.

Mormon women know that they are loved equally. No one was a bigger champion for women than the Savior.

I hope that I will be able to teach my daughters of their eternal worth as daughters of God.

My Testimony

I know that I am a daughter of God, and I know that He loves me. He has blessed me and expects much of me. He has not left me powerless in this world, but has endowed me with His power. The power of the priesthood is infused in my life. I have also been blessed with the power to bear children. I know that in this way, I am like God, and I am humbled to know that He has trusted me with this Power. I know that I have been given specific gifts, challenges, blessings, and trials that will help me to come closer to Him if I will choose. I know that he roots for me, He loves me, He mourns with me during times of sadness, and that He rejoices with me in my victory.

I know and am secure in my womanhood. I know I am of great worth. I know that the blessings that Heavenly Father has in store for me may not be realized while I’m living on earth, but may be reserved for a time in the eternities. I know that God loves and has always loved all of the women on this earth: His daughters.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Meg

     /  October 20, 2012

    beautiful words and beautiful picture of your girls! I miss them!

    Reply
  2. Ben

     /  March 8, 2013

    Hello,
    I was wondering if you could explain to my there are at least 9 versions of the first vision?
    Ben

    Reply
    • Hi Ben,
      I’m not exactly sure what you’re talking about. Is this in regard to a prior comment or blog post?
      -catania

      Reply
      • Ben

         /  March 15, 2013

        Catania,
        Yes.
        Ben

      • Ben, I’m still having trouble remembering what you were asking about. But I’d love to try to help with any questions you have. Please let me know.
        -catania

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 261 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
