The Word of Wisdom: Promises and Blessings Part One (D&C 89:18-21)

“And all saints who remember to keep and do these sayings, walking in obedience to the commandments, shall receive health in their navel and marrow to their bones;

And shall find wisdom and great treasures of knowledge, even hidden treasures;

And shall run and not be weary, and shall walk and not faint.

And I, the Lord, give unto them a promise, that the destroying angel shall pass by them, as the children of Israel, and not slay them. Amen.” – Doctrine and Covenants 89:18-21

I have to admit, this is my favorite part of the Word of Wisdom.

When the Lord introduced this new principle, he explained that it was a principle with a promise. In these last few verses, we learn of the promised blessing that will come when we follow the principle of good health.

Health in the Navel, Marrow in the Bones
The first blessing is actual health. Now, this doesn’t mean that we will never get sick. But that we will have healthier lives because of living the word of wisdom. This seems like the most obvious consequence of keeping the Word of Wisdom. Just because it is obvious, though, doesn’t mean we should overlook its importance! Good health is an amazing blessing. When we have good health, we are better able to enjoy life.

I have always experienced fairly good health. I’ve never had a life threatening disease. Of course, there have been times that I’ve been sick, and when I’ve gone through that, I think, “This is the worst thing EVER!” And, afterwards, I am always amazed at how great it feels to be normal – not to have a runny nose, or fever, or some worse symptom.

Recently, though, I have had a problem with endometriosis. I have known about this problem for about five years, but hadn’t done anything to treat it because I wasn’t done having children. Then, this summer, it was acting up again, and I decided to see a doctor to do something about it. Since I knew that we were done having children, I prayerfully considered her advice: hysterectomy.

I elected to have the surgery – seven weeks ago. I’m already feeling so much better! I have more energy. I feel like I’m better able to enjoy life again. Even though I still have to get back to normal (my abdomen will need a bit of strengthening after that surgery), I’m noticing the quality of my life increase. I’m so grateful for health.

In the Doctrine and Covenants, there is a scripture that reads:

” Yea, all things which come of the earth, in the season thereof, are made for the benefit and the use of man, both to please the eye and to gladden the heart;

Yea, for food and for raiment, for taste and for smell, to strengthen the body and to enliven the soul.” – Doctrine and Covenants 59:18-19

I love this! When we keep the Word of Wisdom, and use the food that Heavenly Father has given us as He has directed, then it will strengthen our bodies and enliven our souls. The physical blessing of the Word of Wisdom is pretty cool.

Wisdom
Another blessing of the Word of Wisdom is wisdom! (Imagine that).

One of the best examples of this blessing is found in the example of Daniel, Hananiah (Shadrach), Mishael (Meshach), and Azariah (Abed-nego). They had been brought to the court of Nebuchadnezzar to be trained by his people. They would be added to his large counsel. They were young and first would go through various exercises. The first thing to do was to get healthy and strong. They were told to eat the “Kings Meat” and drink the “King’s Wine.” However, this diet was against the dietary code of Daniel and his Israelite brethren. They asked if they could be exempt from this part of the King’s training.

Of course, the eunuchs who were in charge of preparing Daniel and his brethren were worried about the results of their lack of participation. Daniel offered a challenge – they would keep their own Dietary code for ten days, and if they didn’t appear and perform well, then they would submit to the King’s diet.

After ten days, the boys appeared healthier than all of the other boys who had eaten the king’s meat. We also learn of another blessing:

“As for these four children, God gave them knowledge and skill in all learning and wisdom: and Daniel had understanding in all visions and dreams.” – Daniel 1:17

In addition to their good health, these boys had received knowledge in all learning and wisdom.

I think that this makes sense. When we are following the Word of Wisdom (not necessarily the diet fad of the day), our brains work better. We receive the nutrients we need in order to have maximum function. We may not have six pack abs, but we won’t be “meat-heads” either. The Lord knows our bodies, He designed them. While we may not have an understanding of the benefits for various foods and our body, the Lord does. Our diet does more for us than our appearance -it also helps us have wisdom.

I, personally, am interested in this promise. I am always looking to improve my wisdom, knowledge, and understanding. If I want to do this, then I will stay closer to His Spirit through keeping the Word of Wisdom. Elder Richard G. Scott has taught us how to enhance the power of the Spirit in our lives:

“On the other hand, spiritual communication can be enhanced by good health practices. Exercise, reasonable amounts of sleep, and good eating habits increase our capacity to receive and understand revelation.” – Richard G. Scott

It makes sense that if we don’t cloud our minds with the negative effects of drugs, then we will be blessed with greater wisdom. I find it interesting to also note that good eating habits help to enhance our ability to receive revelation and gain wisdom. Good food = Brain food.

***

I’m grateful for these blessings of the Word of Wisdom. I’m grateful to enjoy good health. I love being able to learn, think, and grow. I’m grateful that Heavenly Father has given us insight on how our bodies effect us physically and mentally. Have you experienced these blessings as a result of keeping the Word of Wisdom? How have the blessings of health and wisdom effected your life?

***
Click here to read part two of The Word of Wisdom: Promises and Blessings.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thank you for the wonderful insight you have shared in this post. As a fairly recent convert to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, I have struggle to grasp the full meaning and import of this commandment. So after giving up “hot drinks” ,etc from my old life, I wondered what were the benefits? So slowly little points of doctrine are revealing themselves to me, one in the form of this post. Thank you. I admire your courage to make the decison to have surgery. It reminds me of the verses in the NT where the Savior counsels that if thy right hand offended thee, cut it off, if thine eye offended they pluck it out. Meaning that for every problem there is a solution if we allow Him to guide us.

    Reply
    • Thank for the comment, Ramona. I am a “life-long” member of the church and find that even though these commandments have been a part of my life-traditions, I still need to really grasp the full meaning of each commandment. Sometimes the Word of Wisdom can be difficult – I don’t drink hot drinks, smoke, or imbibe alcohol, but I know that I’m not taking as good of care as my body as I can. With so many different “diet” ideas, I’m grateful for the Word of Wisdom – that is a general guideline given by the One who created our bodies!

      Reply
  1. The Word of Wisdom: Promises and Blessings – 2/2 (Doctrine and Covenants 89:18-21) « That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
