The Judgment: Required with God’s Justice

Click here for today’s assignment.

Well…it’s the second to last day…and I’m posting pretty late, but I wanted to write something really quick about today’s study assignment and the judgment.

Alma teaches a powerful concept about the judgment:

“I say unto thee, my son, that the plan of restoration is requisite with the justice of God; for it is requisite that all things should be restored to their proper order. Behold, it is requisite and just, according to the power and resurrection of Christ, that the soul of man should be restored to its body, and that every part of the body should be restored to itself.

And it is requisite with the justice of God that men should be judged according to their works; and if their works were good in this life, and the desires of their hearts were good, that they should also, at the last day, be restored unto that which is good.

And if their works are evil they shall be restored unto them for evil. Therefore, all things shall be restored to their proper order, every thing to its natural frame—mortality raised to immortality, corruption to incorruption—raised to endless happiness to inherit the kingdom of God, or to endless misery to inherit the kingdom of the devil, the one on one hand, the other on the other—

The one raised to happiness according to his desires of happiness, or good according to his desires of good; and the other to evil according to his desires of evil; for as he has desired to do evil all the day long even so shall he have his reward of evil when the night cometh.

And so it is on the other hand. If he hath repented of his sins, and desired righteousness until the end of his days, even so he shall be rewarded unto righteousness.

These are they that are redeemed of the Lord; yea, these are they that are taken out, that are delivered from that endless night of darkness; and thus they stand or fall; for behold, they are their own judges, whether to do good or do evil.” – Alma 41:2-7

What I’m struck by is the fact that it is requisite with the justice of God that we are judged according to our works.

I think that sometimes the current trend in society is to focus so much on the mercy and grace of God, that we forget His justice. Maybe we use His loving-kindness to rationalize away our sins. But the fact remains: Because of God’s Justice, there will be a judgment.

Now, this doesn’t mean that we can work our way into heaven. We still need the mercy of Christ. However, our works qualify us for Christ’s Grace. (See 2 Nephi 25:23.) One of the greatest works we can do is to repent.

Of course, there is so much we don’t know about the judgment. We really don’t know what it will be like. But thankfully, we know it will be personal. And we also know that standard by which God will judge: Christ. So – depending on how we conduct ourselves, the judgment will either be pretty exciting or scary.

I am both a little excited and a little nervous about the time when I can report to the Savior on what I’ve done in my life. I hope to give a good report. I hope to be able to say that I had done all that He wanted me to do. I hope to be able to admit that though I made mistakes, I always strove to be better. I hope that I will be able to say that I’ve become clean through the power of His atonement. I hope to be able to stand before Christ, with a good report, and full of humility and gratitude knowing that His atonement can help complete my weakness.

What are your thoughts on the judgment? What did you learn as you studied?

Click here for tomorrow’s assignment

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Stephanie

     /  September 26, 2012

    Is Matthew 10:27 the correct scripture reference?

    Reply
  2. Stephanie

     /  September 28, 2012

    Arkansas Stephanie here, a different Stephanie than above…

    I love your reminder that the simple senses we enjoy by having a physical body are truly a blessing. I never thought about how I could miss smelling a fresh cool morning or hearing birds chirping or seeing a beautiful mountain scene. Thankfully, I won’t have to miss it because our bodies will be restored. What a happy thought!

    Reply
    • Thanks…It’s funny. Often, it takes me actually writing things out to learn anything. At first, I just kept thinking about how great our resurrection will be because our bodies will be perfected and we won’t deal with pain anymore. It wasn’t until writing this blog that I realized…wait – what I experience in this body is a lot more than just pain. It really brings more hope to the resurrection.

      Thanks for the comment. I hope you are doing well in arkie-land. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Stephanie

     /  October 2, 2012

    Ah, I see now what the other Stephanie was asking. In the reading assignment for the Judgement, the scripture Matthew 10:27 doesn’t seem to go along with the questions. I think this scripture is Christ commanding his apostles to go out and preach…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
