Do Mormons Regard the Bible as Holy Scripture and the Word of God?

I am always happy to answer this question…YES! We do regard the Bible as Holy Scripture. We believe it is the word of God!

In fact, not only do Mormons believe the Bible is Holy Scripture, but we Love it. Well, I do anyways. I love the law, the poetry, and the prophecies of the Old Testament. I love the account of Christ’s life, the Pauline Epistles, and Revelation of the New Testament. I love to read the covenants and commandments of the Lord. I love to read about His promised blessings.

I love this quote at mormon.org –
“We see it as a powerful, important, and sacred holy record which serves as the bedrock of all Christianity.” (Mormon.org)

Mormons DO believe the Bible is the word of God. I have had various experiences with the Bible and will share a few.

Powerful
The Bible has made a powerful impact in my life. Several years ago, I was experiencing some strain in my marriage. I had felt the Holy Ghost prompting me, but it was unfamiliar because the feeling I had was that of frustration and disappointment rather than warmth. I went to my scriptures and read:

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” – Galatians 5:1

This scripture came to me with more power than any scripture I had read. It moved me to action. It helped me to realize what I needed to do in my marriage. And even though that marriage ended in divorce, this scripture has remained powerful to me – reminding me that I needed to make sure I was never yoked to sin again.

Important
The Bible is so important because in it we learn the covenants that God makes with man. We also learn the commandments. To me, this is one of the most important scripture passages:

ҦBut when the Pharisees had heard that he had put the Sadducees to silence, they were gathered together.

Then one of them, which was a lawyer, asked him a question, tempting him, and saying,

Master, which is the great commandment in the law?

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.

This is the first and great commandment.

And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” – Matthew 22:33-40

Christ taught us the law as Jehovah in the Old Testament. He taught the Higher law as the promised Messiah in the New Testament. Even though the commandments aren’t always easy to keep, they are simple: Love God and love one another. The Bible teaches us this through the meek words of the Savior, Himself.

Sacred and Holy
Of course, the entire nature of the Bible is sacred and holy. In my mind, the most sacred and holy scriptures are recorded by Isaiah:

“For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.

He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

¶Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” – Isaiah 53:2-5

This scripture teaches us about Christ. He isn’t ostentatious; he is simple. Yet, he performed the most important, loving, and essential act in our History: He bore our griefs, carried our sorrows, was wounded for our transgressions, was bruised for our iniquities, and was chastised for our peace: He preformed the atonement. This is one of my top favorite scriptures.

Oh – and if you don’t really feel moved by it through reading the scripture, just listen to Handel’s interpretation of Isaiah’s words…

I have a testimony that the Bible is the true word of God. I have read it. I have prayed about it. I have been inspired, taught, and comforted by the Bible.

If you would like to know more about what Mormons believe and the Bible, you can click here.

How do you you feel about the Bible? How has the Bible inspired you in life? Do you have a testimony that it is the Word of God?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 257 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
