Qualifications for Serving God (Doctrine and Covenants 4:5-6)

I have had the opportunity in the past to serve in a few “leadership” positions in the church (Young Women’s Presidency, mostly). Every time I have served in these capacities, I have always learned a lot. Recently, I have had experiences that have made me think a lot about church government – especially leadership.

I have to admit, there have been times that I’ve been frustrated. Sometimes I think that we want to treat the church like a business. I can see why – the organization lends itself to a business mind. There is a clear structure and hierarchy. However, this doesn’t mean it is a business. People aren’t called to serve because of their leadership skills. Women aren’t called to be Visiting Teaching Supervisors because they know how to get results. In the church, we don’t hand in resumes and expect to be put into positions based on our education and experience.

That being said, the Lord has stated a list of qualifications for those who are to be called to serve:

“And faith, hope, charity and love, with an eye single to the glory of God, qualify him for the work.

Remember faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, brotherly kindness, godliness, charity, humility, diligence.” – Doctrine and Covenants 4:5-6

If we want to serve God, then we must do what we can to qualify for His work, but his list of qualifications are not the same kind that we would learn about in a business class. In order to qualify, we need to become saints.

Knowing this information brings me a lot of peace. It helps me to remember that I can sustain leaders who may not be great at leadership. Instead, they may be great saints. While some leaders may not be great at time management or communicating schedules, they may be great at what really matters: like faith, hope, or charity.

Above all, I feel like understanding these qualifications will help me in all of the ways that I serve the Lord – both in my callings at church, and in my life-long calling as mother. As I look through the list, I can only imagine how much better my service would be if I could do a better job cultivating these traits.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for the post. You are wise beyond your years in understanding this. Sometimes it takes being called to a leadership calling to realize this. One hears all the time, “Who knows why I got this calling? I don’t know what the bishop was thinking.” First off, not the bishop, but the Lord via the bishop, and next, the person being called may have the right “Sainthood” to handle issues that come their way. Leadership skills will come with time and desire. You inspire me to be better. Thanks! Love your guts!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comments. Often, I have wondered why on earth I would get some of the callings I have received. Of course, I forget to look at it from a spiritual perspective. Even if I don’t feel spiritually qualified, so much of it is about being faithful and willing.

      Reply
  2. Great perspective! I have seen in my life that not only am I qualified for my callings by becoming a saint, but often my callings often require me to develop skills and spiritual gifts that fortify me in the trials I will have in other areas of my life while in that calling. Also, my callings require me to sacrifice in a way that will bring me the blessings I need exactly when I need them.
    Example: Right now I am primary music leader. The songs I have been learning and teaching the children come to my mind right in my weak moments and have helped me make better choices when I have been tempted. It would not have been the same songs if I had been called for last year or next year. The songs we’re learning right now are helping me right now.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the insight! Yes, I totally agree with you. I love how the gospel works together. Heavenly Father truly is efficient in how he blesses us. When we serve, we bless others, we experience more of His love, we refine ourselves, we build up strength and character that helps us through trials. Thanks for the comment and additional insight.

      Oh – and don’t you love being primary chorister?! It is one of my favorite callings. have fun! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
