Mothers in May – Mary (mother of Christ)

Mary

I love reading about the women in the scriptures. I have to admit, there are times when I wish that we had more of a narrative of these women. I mean, can you imagine, learning more about womanhood and women from women? Can you imagine scriptures, written by women? I think that they would look a lot like some blogs I like reading… 🙂

I’m just saying, I love to read the accounts of the women in the scriptures because we learn so much, and – let’s face it – because I’m a woman!

So…for today: Mary (the mother of Christ). I love Mary. I love her example and her testimony.

But my favorite thing, hands down, is her simple obedience.

Behold the handmaid of the Lord…

Can you imagine this scenario for yourself? I mean, really think about it! In the past, I’ve romanticized what it must have been like for Mary. I’ve thought, oohhh cool, it would be awesome to be Jesus’s Mother. But now, when I really think about it, I realize that it would have been a huge decision, and not really all that easy.

First of all, there is the usual stuff that goes on with pregnancy: I don’t particularly like it. Personally, I’m sick, I’m in pain, and well, it’s pregnancy. I can’t imagine pregnancy without many of the modern luxuries I enjoy either. So, there’s that for Mary: pregnancy.

Now, I would imagine that most people wouldn’t believe her when she explained how she got pregnant. There are plenty of people who still, at this day, don’t believe her explanation, and we live in a relatively tolerant time. Can you imagine the way the people in her life (that didn’t believe her) must have made her feel shame?

When the angel announced to Mary that she would be the Mother of Christ, she was engaged to Joseph, but was unsure of how he would take it. There was a chance that she would be stoned to death! For her to choose to bear Christ, her life was at stake!

Yet, humbly, she answered the angel:

“And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her.” – Luke 1:38

She had enough faith to be obedient.

What an amazing trait for a mother!

I think about myself, do I always answer, Behold the handmaid of the Lord;” when I am faced with my own duties as a mother and servant of God? I have to admit that there are times when I mutter, “am I the only person in this house who knows how to do dishes?!” rather than humbly serving my family – cognizant of the fact that in serving them I’m serving God.

I’m grateful for the humble faith and obedience of Mary who had the courage to be the Mother of the Savior.

Study more about Mary yourself. Here is a little study guide – with Scriptures to read and Optional questions to answer. Take time to really ponder her role as a mother and how you can learn from her example. If you have trouble seeing the pdf file below, either reload this webpage, or click here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I love Mary! I just saw this pinned on pinterest today: http://www.theredheadedhostess.com/holidays/christmas/i-want-to-be-more-like-mary/ Put these two together, and I get the message–I think I need to study more about Mary! Thank you!

    Reply
    • Thanks for posting that link. I love the connection she made between mary and the young women’s values… I hope your study of Mary goes well! 🙂

      Reply
  2. jspruell

     /  June 16, 2012

    Mary’s humility and obedience is impressive but so is (was) the courage and discipleship that she displayed throughout her life — from Gabriel’s announcement to after the Savior’s crucifixion… Good luck with your study!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
