FHE – Honesty

Tiger taught Family Home Evening tonight on honesty. She did a lot of hard work to present this all on her own.

First, we watched this Mormon Message Video:

We then discussed honesty – what it is, how it is more than simply telling the truth in what we say, but that we should be honest in all that we do. During FHE, I was reminded of something I had heard years ago – that when we live in debt we are not being honest – we aren’t being honest with ourselves, others, and even (at times) with those to whom we owe money. This talk was given before the economy was destroyed. In fact, it was given when things were going well…And we can see now that this is true, there is a day of reckoning and soon the truth comes out. I didn’t really talk about this in FHE, I just had the thought…it was a good reminder to me – as it reinforces my desire to work hard to stay out of debt and not be overly materialistic.

Tiger then gave an object lesson.

It started with a little lie...

Tiger had dad be the example for this object lesson. She asked him a question (and he was told to lie). When he lied, one little piece of yarn was wrapped around his wrist.

And then another...

He could have told the truth after the first lie with little consequence. It would have been easy to get out of the lie. However, it is tempting to continue lying – as it is quite embarrassing to admit to the first lie. So…dad kept lying, and the yarn kept wrapping around his wrists.

Bound by lies.

Finally, we saw that dad could not get free from his lies. They had completely bound him. He was no longer free – and it seemed like he wasn’t free to tell the truth. Even if he told the truth, he was wrapped up in the lies that he had said. He could be freed only by a big pair of sharp scissors…We can repent, and be freed from the lies, yet there is still damage done. People won’t believe us. The worst damage is what it does to our own spirits.

We discussed Korihor, who was an anti-Christ in the Book of Mormon. He had begun to spread lies to the people in Zarahemla. He finally comes to the point where he is contending with Alma, and has tempted Alma to ask for a sign. Korihor is stuck dumb, and the truth finally begins to come out. Korihor explains:

“But behold, the devil hath deceived me; for he appeared unto me in the form of an angel, and said unto me: Go and reclaim this people, for they have all gone astray after an unknown God. And he said unto me: There is no God; yea, and he taught me that which I should say. And I have taught his words; and I taught them because they were pleasing unto the carnal mind; and I taught them, even until I had much success, insomuch that I verily believed that they were true; and for this cause I withstood the truth, even until I have brought this great curse upon me.” – Alma 30:53

Korihor began telling those lies so many times that he was bound by them. He deceived himself! He eventually believed his own lies, even though he knew that they were lies from the very beginning.

I think that this is such an interesting fact. As a family, we talked a little bit about Korihor, and how if we lie, we may run the same risk: beginning to believe our own lies. It seems like a lie is something that is designed to help us avoid some kind of pain or problem, yet when we lie, over time we cause ourselves greater pain and problems than the ones that we tried so hard to avoid.

Tiger closed with her testimony – that we can be honest, when we do, then the Spirit is with us. When we don’t, our spirits dull, and we become like Korihor – tricked by our own lies. She bore her testimony of the truthfulness of the gospel. And then we closed…with a song, prayer, and treats (of course!).

What did you do for FHE? For another Family Home Evening Experience, click on over to Jocelyn’s Blog.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. That’s such a great idea for a lesson on Honesty. We had an FHE lesson on honesty recently, but I think I may use some of your thoughts, and do another follow up lesson. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. lisa

     /  August 28, 2014

    This is so awesome and just what I need for my young women lesson. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
