April 2012 Visiting Teaching Message

This month is a little different for me. I’ve just moved, and I’m not a visiting teacher! Nor do I have a visiting teacher. Maybe I will receive an assignment before the end of the month, but for now, I thought I’d read through the visiting teaching message since I have no idea if I’ll be able to discuss it other sisters or not.

This month, the visiting teaching message is on visiting teaching.

I love how it starts:

“We know we are successful in our ministering as visiting teachers when our sisters can say: (1) my visiting teacher helps me grow spiritually; (2) I know my visiting teacher cares deeply about me and my family; and (3) if I have problems, I know my visiting teacher will take action without waiting to be asked.” – Visiting Teaching Message, April 2012

I have to admit that I’m not sure if the women I’ve visit taught in the past would say that about me. I know that I need to commit to being a better visiting teacher.

I’ve been reading the Biography of Thomas S. Monson – To the Rescue. I’m inspired by his love and service. He truly has a charitable heart. I’ve also been reading in Mosiah 4 where we are exhorted to love and serve one another. I want to be a better woman. I want to serve others. I want to serve the Lord. I want to be a helper, a builder.

Right now, I have two young kids in the home. It is hard to get out and do much. However, I realize that I’ve forgotten that I don’t have to do anything complicated. I have the opportunity to serve God through visiting teaching.

This is a part of the story of Mary and Martha that I don’t usually pay attention to, but we can learn about visiting teaching from it.

“Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.

And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.” – Luke 10:38-39

Christ entered into a village, and Martha received him into her house. What a good example for visiting teaching? Do I show this kind of love and care for my sisters? Even though I’m the one visiting the women in their houses, really, I need to be like Martha – open, loving, and receptive. If I will really reach out to those I visit teach and receive them into my heart, I think that it will go better. I will find ways to serve. They will know I love them, and, above all, they will know that God loves them.

Not only does Martha give a good example, but so does Mary. She sat and heard His word. As a visiting teacher, I need to be sure that I’m listening.

Mary and Martha are also great examples on how to be visit taught. Not only do we need to serve others, but we need to be willing to receive those who are willing to serve us. We need to listen to them – their words can strengthen and teach us. Visiting teaching works both ways.

Finally, we get the best example about visiting teaching from Christ. He went into the home of another, and He brought the Spirit. He was aware of the needs of these women – what was needful, and he taught them accordingly. It is good to remember His example as I go into the houses of other women.

So…what do we do?
How can I know what my sisters need?
This is a great question. I often find myself asking this. And the answer, I guess, is simple. I can pray for them – that the Spirit will guide me to be perceptive to the needs of the women I visit teach. I can also listen to them and be their friend – phone calls, play-dates, etc. I think that if they feel like they have a friend in me – that they can trust me – then there is a better likelihood that they will ask me for help – or, at the very least, admit to me that they have a need when I ask.

How will my sisters know that I care deeply about them?
I hope that they will know I care for them by the way that I know them and serve them. Otherwise, it won’t be very obvious, I suppose.

This is such an inspirational message. It makes me excited for the chance to visit teach. I hope I get an assignment soon!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. A big shout out on this one! I miss my visitng teachers as well! I can’t wait to (get them/be one) again. I love how you pointed out the simple idea to pray for those whom you serve. It brought to my mind what a great way to keep reminding ourselves that God is really the one that is helping everyone and we are on His errand. It’s also a way to recommit ourselves to doing it His way and making sure our motives remain pure. :-). Yea for prayer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
