FHE – The Resurrection of Jesus Christ

I was in charge of FHE last night. I always love doing Family Home Evening. Usually, I try to do some kind of cute craft or something that we can keep…mostly because I love doing those thing, and I love to see what the kids come up with. However, there are times when I need to be realistic.

We moved from Arkie-land to AZ last week, and now I’m in the middle of unpacking boxes, getting my address changed, restocking on food and other needs at home, setting up new accounts, getting the girls in school, and yesterday Homey bought a Vespa…somehow planning a cute FHE with a fun craft just didn’t figure in. (Plus, my craft supplies are still packed!)

So, I headed over to lds.org, and found some videos.

I figured that it might be nice to give some context to the Savior’s resurrection. So, I started with this video: The Triumphal Entry

We talked about how the people were happy. Christ riding in on the colt fulfilled prophecy. Additionally, people waved the palm fronds because they believed that He was the King.

We then watched this video: The Last Supper

I made sure to remind them about Judas – and what he was going to do. We also talked about the last supper and how we commemorate it now – through the Sacrament.

Then we watched this video: The Savior Suffers in Gethsemane

In this video, I made sure to point out how the Savior took with Him Peter, James, and John. We watched the video as the Savior suffered. Sasquatch’s eyes were even bigger than normal, and she said, “Jesus is sad.” I have to admit, even though I can logically recall the events of the atonement, the idea of the Savior suffering all of the sins and pains of this world blows my mind. I know that He did it, but I cannot comprehend it.

I sat there and remembered about a time when I had kidney stones. Have you ever had kidney stones? Passing kidney stones was some of the worst pain that I’ve felt in my entire life. When I was going through this, I asked Homey for a blessing. And in the blessing I was reminded of the Savior’s suffering – how he has felt what I felt, and I could find comfort if I remembered Him. While watching the video last night, I just kept thinking about the pain I had felt, and how intense it was, yet that was only a fraction of what He was feeling. I often underestimate the agony that He experienced. I forget what a trial it was for Him. It is good to remember His words about the experience in Gethsemane:

“Which suffering caused myself, even God, the greatest of all, to tremble because of pain, and to bleed at every pore, and to suffer both body and spirit—and would that I might not drink the bitter cup, and shrink—” – Doctrine and Covenants 19:18

I am amazed at how effective these videos are at helping us really internalize the gospel.

So…next we watched this video: Jesus is Tried by Caiaphas, Peter Denies Knowing Christ

I made sure to mention to the kids that it was Peter who denied Christ. We also talked about how he wept bitterly. Unlike Judas, Peter loved the Savior. He repented for denying the Savior. It must have been a very difficult time for him and for Christ.

Then, we watched this video: Jesus is Condemned before Pilate

Another good video…Of course, I kept admiring the Roman haircut versus the other hairstyles…not sure why…This was a powerful video. It is impossible to imagine such a fever pitch of hatred for a person who not only was innocent, but was the Son of God.

We watched: Jesus is Scourged and Crucified

This was very powerful, yet tastefully done. I was a little worried to let my three-year-old watch it. Her knowledge of the Savior is something more along the lines of Him holding and blessing the children. But it is important for her to understand, even at a young age, what He went through. She would say, “Jesus is sad.” And we agreed. He had big “owies”. This is another video that is difficult to think about – the pain, the mockery, the irreverence, and the general hatred that the people had for the Savior. It is really sad.

We watched this video: Jesus is Laid in a Tomb

Simple…

Then we watched the last video…the finale…Jesus is Resurrected

The FHE went well. It is amazing the Spirit that can accompany such well made media. I love these videos! Even though I didn’t do some cute crafts with clever object lessons, our FHE was successful! In fact, I think that it may have been more successful than what I could have come up with. All of us sat with rapt attention, and I feel like the Spirit spoke to each of us as we needed – in our own ways. I know that it spoke to me.

I closed by bearing my testimony, and I think that I’ll bear it here…

I know that Jesus Christ is my Savior. It is truly difficult for me to grasp the atonement. I can’t imagine one person taking on the sins of the world. Only the literal Son of God could do such a thing. I have experienced sin and the burden that comes with it. I have experienced pain caused by the sins of others. I have also experienced physical pain; wrenching pain. Each of these experiences came at their own times. In each of these experiences, I was buoyed up by my testimony of the Savior and the comfort He offers through the Holy Ghost. Even though I don’t fully comprehend how He could have experienced the atonement, I know that He did. And I know that He loves me.

I encourage you to watch these videos. Watch them with your families. Talk about them. Bear your testimony of the Savior. Pray together. And then, after everything is said and done…have some ice cream!

YUM!

What did you do for FHE last night? Be sure to check out what Jocelyn did with her family over at We Talk of Christ, We Rejoice in Christ.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. This was our FHE last night as well

    Reply
  2. handmadebykelly

     /  April 9, 2012

    I used your idea tonight for our FHE and it was wonderful. We also did resurrection rolls for our treat. Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Reply
    • I’m glad that you had a wonderful FHE. I’m amazed at how the church’s videos convey the Spirit so strongly.

      I’ve yet to make resurrection rolls. I was thinking about doing it, but ended up doing some other treats. I hear that they are great. I think we’ll have to try them out.

      Thanks for commenting and sharing!

      Reply
  3. I agree that the Church has produced some beautiful NT videos. These will fit sweetly in my primary lesson tomorrow. Blessings and thanks to you from Paradise, CA!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
