Easter Study – The Triumphal Entry

The Triumphal Entry

The triumphal entry is a really nice part of the story of the Savior’s last week. It is actually a highlight of His entire life and ministry. There are a few things that I noticed while studying this event.

Christ – Giver and Fulfiller of Prophecy
Before entering into Jerusalem, the Lord instructs His disciples to get a colt.

“And when they drew nigh unto Jerusalem, and were come to Bethphage, unto the mount of Olives, then sent Jesus two disciples,

Saying unto them, Go into the village over against you, and straightway ye shall find an ass tied, and a colt with her: loose them, and bring them unto me.

And if any man say ought unto you, ye shall say, The Lord hath need of them; and straightway he will send them.

All this was done, that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the prophet, saying,

Tell ye the daughter of Sion, Behold, thy King cometh unto thee, meek, and sitting upon an ass, and a colt the foal of an ass.” – Matthew 21:1-5

Christ understands all of the prophecies. Well, it is actually more than that. Christ, Jehovah, gave these prophecies to His prophets centuries and millennia before He came to the earth. Of course He knew the prophecies.

And, when He came to the earth, He was sure to complete everything according to the signs He had given. In the Old Testament, we read:

“Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion; shout, O daughter of Jerusalem: behold, thy King cometh unto thee: he is just, and having salvation; lowly, and riding upon an ass, and upon a colt the foal of an ass.” – Zechariah 9:9

I guess, the thing is, knowing the Savior doesn’t have to be some difficult mystery. He doesn’t want it to be so. He has given us signs, types, and prophecies pointing us toward Him. Not only that, but he has fulfilled each sign, type, and prophecy with exactness. We can know Him if we look to the information that He has given us.

Christ the King
Again, we learn in this event that Jesus Christ is the King. There is the symbolism of riding into Jerusalem on a donkey, the palm fronds, and the timing of the event that point to Christ being king of Israel. (Not to mention the fact that He was a literal descendant of David, so the rightful heir to the throne). But Christ’s kingship is more than of physical Israel. He is the King of kings.

Many of the people recognize this and rejoice and praise Him as he humbly entered into Jerusalem.

“And as he went, they spread their clothes in the way.

And when he was come nigh, even now at the descent of the mount of Olives, the whole multitude of the disciples began to rejoice and praise God with a loud voice for all the mighty works that they had seen;

Saying, Blessed be the King that cometh in the name of the Lord: peace in heaven, and glory in the highest.” – Luke 19:36-38

The people praised Him for all of the Mighty works that they had seen.

That makes me think about my own life: do I praise God? What mighty works have I experienced?

I feel like I have experienced many miracles. In fact, most days, I’m astounded by the miracles I’ve seen. I have been protected, saved, and forgiven. I have been healed and strengthened.

Yesterday, I was unpacking boxes, I came across three pictures that I keep in my room.

Me and My Dad


This is me and my dad. He is and has been a miracle in my life. He adopted me and raised me. Through the consistent way he has loved me and my siblings, he has taught me to love my children. I have experienced a very good life, I have learned to laugh, and I have learned to love because of my dad.

My dad is not my natural father. Yet, the Lord found a way for him to be in my life. I consider him a miracle.

My Bishop, Me, and Homey

This picture is of My Bishop, Me, and Homey. They are also miracles in my life. My Bishop was an example of loving service. In one of the hardest times in my life, I was able to feel the love of my Savior through my good Bishop’s service. Thanks to His wise counsel, I was able to find, meet, and marry Homey! Every day, I’m flabbergasted by the love the Lord has had for me in being able to marry Homey. I know that there are so many people who do not enjoy a good marriage in their mortal lives. I know that I’m blessed.

Me and Jack

Finally, the last picture I have in my room is this – of me and Jack. He is my biological father. For so many years I never knew who he was. Although I was blessed with an amazing father, there was a gap in my life – in my identity. Two years ago, the Lord blessed me with the miracle of finding Jack. The miracles have continued to flow for me.

These three pictures represent three ways that I have seen the Lord’s mighty works. There are so many more – too many for a blog post.

I can see why the people rejoiced in the Savior, their King. Can you imagine, being there, rejoicing there? It reminds me of His birth and the host of angels that sang as they announced Christ’s birth to the shepherds.

Even though I couldn’t be there when Christ rode in, triumphantly, to Jerusalem, I know that I can still rejoice. I can rejoice through testimony, prayer, and living a life that would bring Christ happiness.

How have you seen His mighty works? How do you rejoice?

***
For the rest of the Easter Scripture Study Series, click here.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
