March 2012 Visiting Teaching Message

I loved the visiting teaching message for this March. Obviously, I haven’t given it yet, but I hope to be able to meet with my visiting teaching sisters soon.

This month, the message is Daughters in my Kingdom.

It begins,

“We are daughters of our Father in Heaven. He knows us, loves us, and has a plan for us.”

Don’t you love that?

Currently, I’m serving in the Young Women’s in my ward. The beginning of the Young Women’s theme is “We are daughters of our Heavenly Father who loves us, and we love Him.” And, as I serve, I’ve often thought that if there is one thing that the young women can learn I hope that it is a knowledge that they are daughters of God.

It’s funny because even though I know that the Young Women need to know and be mindful of this fact, I find that I often forget it. Many women forget that we are beloved daughters of God. It is so powerful. Even though I’m an adult, I still yearn for the love of my parents – I yearn for the love of my father. I’m grateful to have a father, a biological father, and even a step-father who all have shown so much love to me. And it humbles me even more to know that I have a Heavenly Father who loves me perfectly.

Because I know and have felt this love, I want to serve Him. I know that as one of His daughters – and especially as one who is a mother – I have a strict responsibility to my husband, my family, and, above all, my Heavenly Father.

I love the quote given by Elder Uchtdorf:

“By patiently walking in the path of discipleship, we demonstrate to ourselves the measure of our faith and our willingness to accept God’s will rather than ours.”

This totally goes with my theme for this year. I love it. Yet, this quote may cause us to ask, why accept God’s will? The answer is in the Doctrine and Covenants.

“And verily I say unto thee that thou shalt lay aside the things of this world, and seek for the things of a better.” – Doctrine and Covenants 25:10

God’s will is not always easy to do, but we will find that it can take us to a better world.

I’m reminded that what we look forward to may not always be experienced here. Of course, we can be happy now. Our lives are meant to be happy. Yet there will be times when we must give up our natural wills to do something for the Lord. And the awesome thing is: His way is always better.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. S. Larsen

     /  March 1, 2012

    Loving this post! Very inspiring. I really appreciate all your posts. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
