Charity Hopeth All Things

I totally love today’s assignment: studying charity and hope…And I completely love this scripture:

“Wherefore, whoso believeth in God might with surety hope for a better world, yea, even a place at the right hand of God, which hope cometh of faith, maketh an anchor to the souls of men, which would make them sure and steadfast, always abounding in good works, being led to glorify God.” – Ether 12:4

Here, we see the progression of Faith and then hope.

When we believe in God, we hope for a better world.

I understand that. I hope for a better world. I know that this world will not happen now. I know that world I hope for. I hope for the future, when we live in peace. I think of the lyrics

How blessed the day when the lamb and the lion
Shall lie down together without any ire,
And Ephraim be crowned with his blessing in Zion,
As Jesus descends with his chariot of fire! – The Spirit of God

There are many things that frustrate me about this world right now. And I don’t mean in a stressed-out-unhappy-frustrated way. I mean it in a, “I-can’t-wait-until-a-better-day-way.” I get frustrated with the limitations we have – as natural men. I especially get frustrated with my own limitations and foibles. I get frustrated that I am so flawed. I have many weaknesses. I get frustrated that the world around me is growing in wickedness and boldness. We have so many things threatening our physical and spiritual lives.

Yet, thanks to my faith in the Savior, my frustrations are quelled. I’m filled with hope. Even though I still battle my natural tendencies and try to endure the other trials I face, I know that I don’t need to stress. I know that I don’t need to despair. My faith leads to hope for a better world.

This hope anchors me to the Savior and keeps me cheerful even in difficult times.

As I anchor myself to Christ – through hope – I find that my faith is strengthened, and I’m able to be more charitable. Faith hope and charity are pretty amazing…Elder Uchtdorf explains how they complement one another:

“Faith, hope, and charity complement each other, and as one increases, the others grow as well. Hope comes of faith, for without faith, there is no hope. In like manner faith comes of hope, for faith is “the substance of things hoped for.”

Hope is critical to both faith and charity. When disobedience, disappointment, and procrastination erode faith, hope is there to uphold our faith. When frustration and impatience challenge charity, hope braces our resolve and urges us to care for our fellowmen even without expectation of reward. The brighter our hope, the greater our faith. The stronger our hope, the purer our charity.” – President Dieter F. Uchtdorf

I love how the Lord helps so much in our quest to obtain charity. I love how the principles of faith, hope, and charity work together. We aren’t expected to do this all on our own. We receive help. We receive strength. Our hope, based on our faith in Christ, will lead us to be more charitable. Our hope, will sustain us in trials. Our hope is strengthened as our faith is strengthened. Our hope is sustained when we give charitable acts.

Everything in the gospel is an upward spiral. Don’t you just love it?

How do you remain hopeful, even in times of trial? How has hope helped to fortify your faith and inspire you to have charity?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
