FHE – Sacred Homes, Sacred Temples

Last night, I was in charge of Family Home Evening. I had to teach on the topic of: Sacred. I wasn’t sure what direction to take this.

I decided to do a quick search at lds.org, and I found a wonderful conference talk – Sacred Homes, Sacred Temples, by Elder Gary E. Stevenson. This was perfect. I could teach about keeping our home sacred. We have needed that in our home, too. I’ve noticed that my older daughters are fighting more. I’m not sure if it is pre-teen (pre-hormones) or what, but it has been getting tedious. So, this was the perfect angle for the idea of “sacred.”

Opening Song:I love to See the Temple

Scripture/Thought: “There exists a righteous unity between the temple and the home. Understanding the eternal nature of the temple will draw you to your family; understanding the eternal nature of family will draw you to the temple.” – Gary E. Stevenson

Lesson Development:
To begin the lesson, I asked the question What does the word Sacred mean?
We received various answers. My favorite was when Sasquatch (our toddler) said, “Beautiful and cute.” She didn’t really know what sacred meant, but she heard her sisters answers which were – special, and holy.

Then, I asked, What are some examples of sacred things and places. The girls answered with several sacred things and places. After discussing them, we concentrated on the temple and the home.

I asked, How do we make sure that the temple stays sacred? – I based this concept on the following quote:

“In order to keep the temple and those who attend it sacred and worthy, the Lord has established standards through His servants, the prophets.” – Gary E. Stevenson

My children are young, and even I tend to get bored when people repeat too many quotes, so I didn’t say this quote, I just asked what we do to keep temples sacred.

We talked about Temple recommends, how temples are constructed, and how people can’t wear shoes inside the temple.

I then told them – just as the temple has standards to help keep it sacred, our home needs them, too. (Based on this concept:)

“We may be well-advised to consider together, in family council, standards for our homes to keep them sacred and to allow them to be a “house of the Lord.” – Gary E. Stevenson

So – to create the conversation of good standards for our home, we had an object lesson. I had, on the table, a mess of cards…
The girls didn’t know this, but underneath all of these cards was a picture of the temple.

These cards were all things that cause our home to be defiled – or not sacred. We each took turns taking a card off of the pile, and then deciding standards we should implement to help keep our homes sacred. On the other side of the card, we wrote our standards. There was also a picture/puzzle on the other side of the card.

This card is a puzzle piece. We also wrote standards for our home.

Slowly, as we went through the cards, we could see a two pictures being revealed – one under the pile of cards, and another picture on the backs of the cards…

Only One Card Left!

To make this object lesson, I used fifteen index cards. I drew a picture of our house on the blank side with a sharpie marker. On the lined side of the cards, I wrote the following problems/distractions:

Contention Messy Vulnerable
Offensive T.V. Shows or Internet sites Confusing Loud
Dangerous Inappropriate Images Whining
Too Busy to Spend Time Together Unable to Study and Think Lack of Prayer
Bad Music Selfishness Anger

The object lesson took a majority of the time for the lesson. We wrote down all of the standards we needed to keep our home sacred. Finally, we were able to uncover the temple, and build our home!

The girls were happy to have our home built!

After both the home was built and the temple was revealed, I made sure to emphasize the relationship between the two.

As I was teaching this lesson I learned that when we keep our homes sacred, our understanding of our temple covenants increase. If we don’t keep our homes sacred, then this treatment will affect how we treat our temple covenants. In other words, if we don’t keep our home sacred, by following the standards we made, then we take that piece away from our home, and it covers up the temple again. (I physically did this to teach the point). I then repeated this quote by Elder Stevenson, but added the word home after family.

“There exists a righteous unity between the temple and the home. Understanding the eternal nature of the temple will draw you to your family [and home]; understanding the eternal nature of the family [and home] will draw you to the temple.” – Gary E. Stevenson

So…hopefully this inspires you. I don’t mean for it to overwhelm you. Even though it took me quite a bit to explain what happened, it was a really easy lesson to teach and prepare. All you need to do is:

And you are all set.

We all loved this lesson. The kids loved participating. They made up the standards and rules for our family, and we were able to discuss the value of having a sacred home.


Somehow both Dad and Sasquatch looked like they were drunk...Super happy, I guess!

What did you do for Family Home Evening? Please share!

Check out another great FHE experience over at We Talk of Christ. (Jocelyn’s blog).

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I love the correlation between the temple and our homes…and how we must act in both places in order to keep them holy and sacred. Awesome post!

    Reply
  2. Michele

     /  June 22, 2015

    I love this! I was just thinking about our recent temple trip and our home, and looked on pinterest to see if anyone else had Temple/Home is a temple fhe ideas. Thanks so much! I’ll probably simplify it a bit for my kids (fewer cards).

    Reply
  3. lara anders

     /  July 17, 2015

    loved the object lesson – going to try this with my girls as well. and the insight that you gained that you typed in bold about the connection between keeping our temple covenants and how we strive to keep our homes holy has really prompted me to rethink my focus on our home. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
