Cookie Dough and Bucket Lists – YW Class Activity Idea

In case you don’t know, I’m currently serving as the first counselor in my ward’s Young women’s organization. I love it.

First of all, we have a really amazing group of girls. Second of all, it is fun!

So…last night, we had our first activity for the year. Here’s an idea of what we did – maybe it will help you.

Cookie Dough
When we were planning the activity, the girls said that they wanted to make cookie dough and then eat it for an activity. I figured why not, so we planned on it.

I found a recipe online for eggless cookie dough.
2 1/2 cups flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup milk
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup or so chocolate chips

1. Beat the butter and sugars until fluffy.
2. Add the milk and vanilla.
3. Beat in the flour, salt, and baking soda. (you may find that the batter is dry, if so, add in milk as needed)
4. Mix in chocolate chips.
5. Either chill so it hardens a bit or enjoy.

Obviously, the young women were ready to eat it as soon as it was mixed up. I also brought some ice cream so we could mix the cookie dough and ice cream together.

Since I’m a responsible young women’s leader, I couldn’t leave the activity simply at cookie dough. I knew that we needed to have a purpose.

One of the young women in our class turns sixteen this week (we will miss her), and it got me thinking about birthdays. I also have had the idea of New Year’s resolutions in my head. So, I figured that the perfect activity would be to make “bucket lists.”

Bucket List
We didn’t make traditional “bucket lists” for this activity – as in things to do before we die. Instead, we decided to do a list of things to do before our next birthday. For example: Sixteen things to do before I turn sixteen…
(Did I mention that I have a really awesome group of Mia Maids?!)

The Mia Maid Advisor and I brought fun cardstock and markers and let the girls eat ice cream, cookie dough, and write their lists. It was a lot of fun.

***
My only regret with the evening is that I didn’t take more time expressing the importance of living a happy and abundant life. One of the young women in our class is going through a very poignant trial. Her father had a stroke last weekend, and he remembers very little. You can read about her family’s experience here. Warning: you will cry! But their hope and positivity are amazing. As I was getting paper and supplies together for this activity, I couldn’t help but think about how fragile our lives our – and how important it is to have goals, to build relationships, and never to take for granted our short time on this earth. I have been taught this lesson time and again this last year. I need to really do it myself.

I didn’t write a “bucket list.” But I feel like I should have…So, I’m going to write mine here.

34 Things to Do Before I Turn 34

  1. Run a 5K in less than 30 minutes.
  2. Do two pull-ups.
  3. Read Atlas Shrugged.
  4. Read Anna Karenina.
  5. Finish my Italian Rosetta Stone Course.
  6. Play a game of tennis – with anyone.
  7. Make Croissants.
  8. Submit my Scripture Study book for publishing.
  9. Enter a poetry contest.
  10. Make my brother’s blanket.
  11. Memorize 1 new scripture a month.
  12. Read the Doctrine and Covenants 2 more times.
  13. Hold FHE each week.
  14. Create a budget .xls for 2012 and keep it up monthly.
  15. Go on a hike.
  16. Use the telescope monthly.
  17. Find a constellation – other than Big or Little Dippers.
  18. Write 3 humorous essays.
  19. Take the kids on mommy-daughter (son) dates.
  20. Ride my bike.
  21. Create good artwork.
  22. Enjoy the process of life.
  23. Be a disciple of the Savior.
  24. Don’t be jealous of others, instead, find happiness in their opportunities and success.
  25. Learn a new (classical) song on the piano.
  26. Learn a new (popular) song on the piano (by ear).
  27. Teach children how to play the piano.
  28. Bake 5 new bread recipes -including sourdough…
  29. 52 dates with Homey.
  30. Get Family book from 2011 printed.
  31. Write letters to my grandmas.
  32. Go to the temple for my ancestors.
  33. Fit into my pre-pregnancy pants.
  34. Work on becoming rather than accomplishing.

What are some of the items on your “bucket” list?

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. meg

     /  January 5, 2012

    let’s make sourdough “together”! Kasey is the master and has a great tutorial on how to cultivate wild yeast to create your own starter.

    I like your list. I have a “30 by 30” list and about 125 days left. It’s not complete, but it’s getting there, and it’s the process that counts.

    Reply
  2. Oh man…does this mean I need to write a bucket list for when I turn 35 this year? 🙂

    Reply
  3. De Anne

     /  January 5, 2012

    Thank you for all you do for Jessica. It is sincerely appreciated!

    Reply
  4. S. Larsen

     /  January 6, 2012

    Inspiring! Thank you for those great ideas.

    Reply
  5. C. Dunbar

     /  January 6, 2012

    How about a basic minimum number of things in a bucket for those of us in the really big numbers? Imagine trying to do 100 things before turning 100. Maybe if I start now with 30 years to go!

    Reply
    • I actually had this exact thought! I mean, when we were doing this activity, the girls were doing either 15, 16, or 17 things. Not bad…Then, when I had to make my list, I started thinking, wait a minute, this gets older as you get harder! Anyways – good luck tailoring it to your needs. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Kasey

     /  January 6, 2012

    Yes, let’s make sourdough! I just started a new yeast culture this week that will be nice and strong in another week! It’s surprisingly easy. You just have to wait 12-18 hours between mixing the dough and actually baking it, so it’s a plan-ahead bread.

    Reply
    • I would love to. I’ll have to show you the book I got for Christmas. It’s amazing. I’ve made homemade bagels (superior!), I made a sourdough-type loaf (without a true starter, only a sponge that ferments for about a week), pumpernickel. I want to try Jewish Rye next…Such a good book! But I’d love to get together and make bread. or, better yet, CHEESE! (maybe I need to amend my bucket list).

      Reply
  7. Kelsey Craner

     /  January 6, 2015

    Just wanted to say thank you. I was in tears with one day left to prepare, no ideas, 1:30 am, running on empty and praying Heavenly Father would send a miracle. Your post was the first thing I saw when normally I’d be searching for hrs. Now I can get some sleep before schooling my little ones bright and early! Thank you for sharing your inspiration it has truly saved this worn out mum.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the kind comment. I’m glad that you found this helpful! It was a fun activity when we did it. Simple and fun – those were my favorite kinds!!! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 257 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
