Gratitude List 21-40

Check out the First Presidency Message this month – The Choice to Be Grateful. At the end is a challenge to list 100 things you are grateful.

Here are the 10 living and the 10 deceased people I am grateful for.
Ten Living People

  1. Homey – my husband. He is smart, funny, good-looking, and such an inspiration to me. He is the most disciplined and dedicated person I know. I honestly don’t know how I have been blessed to marry him. He is proof to me that Heavenly Father loves me.
  2. My Dad – He adopted me when I was about 4 years old, and has been in my life since I was 2. He has always done everything within his power for me and my siblings. He is a great father.
  3. My Mom – She taught me to love the Church. Every blessing I have I owe to the Lord. I am grateful that I was raised in the church by my mom, so that it could always be such a positive influence in my life.
  4. My Friend, Steph – We have been friends since I was fifteen or so. We have spent countless hours talking over the years. Whether it was about boys and homework (when we were in high school – okay…so we didn’t actually talk about homework!), or about kids and managing our homes (as adults). She has always listened to me and been supportive of me.
  5. My Friend, Kerri – We also have been friends since I was about fifteen. She was my first friend in PA. Life has changed for both of us, but I’m not sure that there is anything more comfortable than an old friend.
  6. My sister, Chandra – I’m grateful that we can live near one another. It is nice to have her love and support. She is one of the people that truly understands me – as we grew up in the same home and went through many of the same blessings and challenges.
  7. The Rest of My siblings – I know that it’s probably wrong that I’m lumping the rest of my siblings together. I’m actually just as close to my brothers as I am my sister. I mean, I’m so grateful for my brother Sam, who spent so many weekends at my house, watching Arrested Development, and Talladega Nights with me. Those were potentially lonely times, but we always had a lot of fun hanging out. I’m grateful for Chris, who has awesome taste in music and movies. We can laugh about anything. And I’m grateful for my brother PJ, who is hilarious, smart, and such a good cook. We always had such a close relationship, and I’m so grateful for him. I’m grateful for my sister Michaela, and, although she’s much younger than me, I’ve always loved hanging out with her. When we were young we made crafts together, and she insisted on being called “Princess Kitty Cat.” I always hoped that my own kids would be 1/2 as cute as she was. And I’m grateful for my brother Sean, who has passed on now, but was a good brother.
  8. Bishop Malan In some ways I feel like I owe him my life! I’m so grateful for his service. He was my bishop while I was single. He gave me priesthood blessings, advice, and eventually prompted me to go online. Because of his closeness to the Spirit and willingness to serve, I was able to find Homey! The Lord used Bishop Malan as an instrument to help me find my husband. And now look, I live in a home, and have two more children, and am so happy to be progressing on in life.
  9. my ex-husband – this is going to sound really weird. I know it is, and I’m not really friends with him at all any more. I don’t have anger to my ex-husband, butI realize I have gratitude. He is the father of my first two daughters. And I’m grateful that he is making changes in his life so that he can have more of a relationship with them.
  10. The Prophet – Thomas S. Monson I’m grateful for a living prophet. I’m grateful for the gospel. I’m grateful for the service he performs for us. I’m grateful for His prayers and dedication to the gospel. I don’t know him personally, but I feel His love for me when he speaks in conference. I’m grateful for his example and willingness to build the kingdom of Zion – as I’ve been blessed by his service and the service of so many other men and women who lead our church.

There are so many other people I could have included here. I just wrote the first names that came to mind. I’m thinking also of Bishop Marler, Bishop Hicks, Kara P., My children, Sister Maierspberger, etc., etc., etc.

Ten Deceased People I am grateful for (in no particular order)

  1. My Piano Teacher – sister Chisholm
  2. My grandparents
  3. Joseph Smith
  4. My little brother
  5. Gordon B. Hinckley
  6. Nephi
  7. Paul
  8. Thomas Edison
  9. Ben Franklin
  10. Thomas Jefferson

Who are you grateful for? Why?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
