Heart Failure and Rescue

“And there shall be signs in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars; and upon the earth distress of nations, with perplexity; the sea and the waves roaring;

Men’s hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken.” – Luke 21:25-26

There is a new Mormon Message based on this scripture. Watch it!

I always like the Mormon Messages, and this is no exception. I think that we can relate to this one.

I haven’t been in a near-death situation like Elder Nelson. But I have been in a few car wrecks, I’ve seen my marriage fall apart before my eyes. I have seen a sibling pass away. I have had my own experiences where I’ve thought that my heart may fail me. But it didn’t.

Like Elder Nelson, I was buoyed up by the support of the Savior.

Elder Nelson says, “If you’ve got faith, you can handle difficulties.” I feel like this is true.

An Experience
A few years ago, I was a single mom. It was this exact time of year. I think it was like December 5 or 6, in fact. It was a Monday night, and I was driving home from work.

As I was driving through a green light, I saw the car across me in the intersection who was turning left. When it was too late, I realized that she was turning left, regardless of the fact that I was going straight through the intersection. We collided, head on.

Thankfully, my children weren’t with me.

I stepped out of my car, called my mom, called the insurance company, someone else called the police (there were many witnesses). Even though I am no insurance adjuster, I could tell that my car was totalled. The airbags had deployed, and I was bruised up a bit. I didn’t know what I was going to do. But, before I could worry – about the fact that I had no money, and wasn’t even sure if we were going to have a Christmas, before I could worry about how I would get to work without a car, a feeling of comfort washed over me.

The night before, I had attended tithing settlement. I was straight with the Lord. I knew that I was trying my best to be as obedient as possible. I knew that the Lord would provide for me. I knew that I didn’t need to worry.

Just as instantly as my heart was comforted, I noticed the other driver. She was an Au Pair. Her employer showed up to the scene of the accident, and he was worried. He was worried about Christmas, what would happen to his insurance, etc. I remember noticing the distinct difference between him and me. He was rich – with a Mercedes and Volvo. He had a nice long coat, and looked like he was doing fine financially. I was not rich – money-wise. I was a single mother – struggling. And yet, I was calm while he was frantic. This was only because of my testimony of the gospel, and because of the gift of the Holy Ghost.

***

Elder Nelson, in this Mormon Message says, “Men’s hearts shall fail them because they forget their identitiy and purpose.” – How interesting.

1. The Lord strengthens and supports us.
2. The way that the Lord strengthens us is by teaching us our identity and purpose.

I have found that as I get closer to the Lord, he strengthens my confidence. This is not some kind of falsified conceit. It isn’t temporary self-esteem, either. But when we go to the Lord, we gain a sense of who we are – His beloved Children. We recognize our nothingness, yet feel the love of His mercy reaching down to help us in whatever we need. As we overcome our weakness, we gain confidence – in ourselves and in the power of the atonement. I know that, in and of myself, I’m powerless. However, I know that in weak things I’m made strong – because of My Savior. We need to understand our identity to keep our hearts from failing us. This scripture illustrates the connection between strength of heart and confidence:

” 21 Beloved, if our heart condemn us not, then have we confidence toward God.” – 1 John 3:21

Through the gospel: understanding it and keeping the commandments, we can come closer to our Savior. He will give us confidence, a knowledge of our identities and purpose, and, when we face troubling times, our hearts will not fail us.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lovely, I really needed to hear this this morning, thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
