Joy and Thanksgiving Study Assignment 1

Here is the scripture study “assignment” for the Joy and Thanksgiving scripture study series. Tomorrow, I will share some of my thoughts/insights…

Connections

  1. Read 2 Nephi 2:13 (you may want to read the verses before-hand to understand the context of this verse)
    • Lehi teaches a few connections to Jacob – for example, sin and righteousness. What are the other connections he makes in the verse?
    • How are these things that Lehi mentions connected? – For example, what does sin have to do with righteousness?
    • Often, we talk about opposition. Why do you think that opposition is part of the plan of happiness?
  2. Read 2 Nephi 2:23.
    • Again, Lehi is making a few connections. What are they?
      How does misery help us to understand joy? How does sinning help us to understand doing good?
    • They say, “Ignorance is bliss” but, if we are ignorant, then we never experience joy. How do you think that experiencing misery will help you to experience joy – even as you struggle through trials?

  3. Read 2 Nephi 2:25.
    • What did Adam do first?
    • After his fall, what is available to all of mankind?
    • Because of the fall, we experience sadness and pain, yet another result of the fall is to experience joy. How have your adversities and painful experiences helped you to feel joy in your life? If they haven’t yet brought you joy, how may they help you to feel joy in the future?
    • How does understanding the connection between Joy and Misery help you to overcome trials, feel the strength of God, and be healed?

Check in tomorrow for lots of fun!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Chandra

     /  November 11, 2011

    I love logical statements…and I’m not just saying ones that seem to make sense, but actual logic: If —> then —> = either a true or false statement…and each of Lehi’s statements are true! Just thought I’d put that out there, but what I really wanted to comment on was that unfortunately we do need the misery to have the joy, and what I have found in my life is that our misery most often comes from our own sins, and joy comes from repentance. Sometimes people think of repentance as this entirely scary process, I like to remind myself that it means I need to change. Changing my habits or behaviors doesn’t sound as scary, and by changing them to fit God’s will instead of my own I will receive JOY. I know that there are other ways we can receive happiness here on earth, but I know that the times I have felt that I knew true joy were the times I had felt the forgiveness of a loving Heavenly Father.

    Reply
    • Totally agree – I think that the “scary” factor with repentance is because we know that we’re guilty – we feel shame. And Satan knows that if we repent, then we will never feel joy. He always tells us to “hide” so that the Lord can’t see us. When the fact is, the Lord can, and he wants to clothe us with His righteousness and joy.

      Thanks for the comment, Sis! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
