Joy and Thanksgiving Scripture Study Series

This Thursday, we are having a Relief Society meeting – Titled: “Be Grateful, Be Happy.” I was asked to teach a class in Relief Society on studying the scriptures – especially finding new ways to approach and study the scriptures, finding strength in the scriptures, and how the scriptures can help us to overcome adversity and find peace and happiness.

That’s a tall order!

I am teaching this class on Thursday night, and I’ve been planning it for a while. I have taught scripture study classes in Relief Society before, so I don’t want to sound repetitive, but I have a testimony of the importance of scripture study, and I know that effective scripture study can give us strength, overcome adversity, and find peace and happiness.

The class will be an introduction – and we will study a little bit about joy and happiness in the scriptures. However, I feel like a twenty minute class really can’t do justice to the assignment I’ve been given, so I have created a fourteen-day study series. Even though many of you who read this will not be at my class, I figure, I can invite you to study along!

So study along with me!

This fourteen day study series is called, “Joy and Thanksgiving.” Here is some basic info on the study series:

  • Each day we will study something about joy or thanksgiving in the scriptures.
  • We will also increase our scripture study habits
    • We will locate lists, connections, and patterns in the scriptures.
    • We will also work on learning how to make a scripture chain.
    • And we will look closely at symbols, parables, and allegories.
  • All of the scripture study elements will be integrated into the plan, so we will learn how to study the scriptures while we are learning about happiness and thanksgiving!
  • This study series will begin on Friday, November 11 (11/11/11!), and it will end on Thursday 11/24/11 (Thanksgiving Day!).

If you decide you would like to study along with me, and want to participate in studying and/or blogging about what you are learning as you study, please email me at chococatania[at]gmail[dot]com. I think that it would be cool to have a scripture “discussion” on Joy and Thanksgiving – as taught to us in the scriptures. And if you think so, too, let me know, and participate in any way you can! You don’t have to participate, either. Just check in throughout the series and get a few insights on happiness and thanksgiving in the scriptures.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Lisa S

     /  November 8, 2011

    I am grateful that you are doing this. I am RS Pres.( as of April, so I’m new at this) and have been trying to learn how to be more effective in my lessons, and reach out to less active sisters, and it came to me that scripture study is the way…..better effective scripture study. I don’t blog but will be following along. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Kathi

     /  November 8, 2011

    You are an answer to prayer! Thank you for doing this.

    Reply
  3. Barbara

     /  November 8, 2011

    Thank you! You are so inspiring. I also don’t blog, but am excited to follow along and study with you.

    Reply
  4. Sandy

     /  November 8, 2011

    This sounds like something I need. Count me in. Thanks so much.

    Reply
  5. Meg

     /  November 8, 2011

    I’m so excited about this. Kasey and I were both inspired to ask you to teach this class. I’m so glad you said yes! Thanks for your enthusiasm, willingness to serve, and talent for inspiring others. Looking forward to it!

    PS–I’ve started marking scriptures by “story” like you suggested in a post recently. I don’t know why I have never thought of reading this way before. I’m enjoying it, and I know I will enjoy having this copy around to share the stories with someone else.

    Reply
    • Wow! I’m happy that you have started reading the BofM the “story” way. Mostly, I’m glad that you are enjoying it! I hope it keeps going well.

      Thanks for having me do this class, I hope that it turns out okay. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Sue

     /  November 8, 2011

    Catania and a scripture study class—awesome.
    I am still teaching here–how long has it been since you left? That is the only way I know how long I’ve been teaching.

    Reply
    • I have been away for four years. I leave PA and they start building a temple!… 😦 how is your class going? I hope everything else is well.

      Reply
  7. Your class was awesome. Thanks for putting together this study program. Wow!

    Reply
  8. I am a less active convert and just discovered your scripture study. I am married and the only member in my family. My scripture study has not been very good. I am so happy that I found your scripture study series (eventhough I am late in starting).

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’m glad you stopped by, and don’t worry about being “late”…this is why I’ve posted them online – you can do the scripture study at your own pace. Also, please feel free to comment anytime. I love learning from the insights and experiences of others. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 261 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
