A Book of Mormon Story

I don’t know about you, but I love the Mormon Messages. They are so nicely done, and they are so real. I always feel the spirit when I watch them.

Today, I watched this new Mormon Message video:

Watch it! Now!!!

I love the scriptures that he quotes:

“Now, concerning the state of the soul between death and the resurrection—Behold, it has been made known unto me by an angel, that the spirits of all men, as soon as they are departed from this mortal body, yea, the spirits of all men, whether they be good or evil, are taken home to that God who gave them life.

And then shall it come to pass, that the spirits of those who are righteous are received into a state of happiness, which is called paradise, a state of rest, a state of peace, where they shall rest from all their troubles and from all care, and sorrow.” – – Alma 40:11-12

This scripture gave him peace and enlightenment. I love this description of the power of the Holy Ghost because that is exactly how I feel the Holy Ghost speak to me. And it is also how I feel when I read those words in the Book of Mormon.

If you’ve read my blog before, you know that I’ve experienced a death in the family. I have had peace surrounding his situation, but my dad is who I really worry about. I wonder if he is able to feel peace.

I gave him a Book of Mormon last week. I don’t know if he has read it. I hope he does. I hope he makes it to Alma 40. I hope he can learn that Sean is okay. And that he can be, too – if he chooses to be come unto Christ. We experience so much sorrow and difficulty in this lifetime, but we don’t have to forever. I’m so comforted by this fact.

Another scripture was shared:

“And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.” – Alma 7:11-12

This is another one of my favorite scriptures! When I think of the peace of the gospel, I feel overwhelmed by Christ’s love. I know that the peace I experience came at a high cost! Christ suffered pains, afflictions, sickness, infirmity, and death – so that I could feel peace.

I’m grateful for the Book of Mormon and for the love I feel as I read its pages. If you have never read the Book of Mormon, I strongly encourage you to do so. I know that it is a good and true book. I can echo the words of the prophet Moroni:

“Behold, I would exhort you that when ye shall read these things, if it be wisdom in God that ye should read them, that ye would remember how merciful the Lord hath been unto the children of men, from the creation of Adam even down until the time that ye shall receive these things, and ponder it in your hearts.

And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost.

And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.” – Moroni 10:3-5

I know that the Lord will manifest the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon to you if you read it and ask Him. I know that the Book of Mormon will change your life. It will not make difficulties magically disappear, but it will infuse your life with peace and understanding. You will be given the capacity to cope. You will see how the Savior runs to your aid. You will love it.

You can find the Book of Mormon online here. Or request a free copy here.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Beautiful, I love Mormon Messages, they are always so lovely.

    Reply
  2. I love that Mormon Message…thanks for introducing me to it! I hope for your father as well…to open up to what you are trying to share with him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
