I’m so Lucky, It Makes Me Sick

There are times when I get a little overwhelmed. As I sit and wonder what on earth it is that overwhelms me, I think it boils down to
Expectataions

Whether these expectations are self-imposed, or they are expectations that other people have of me, I start to feel burdened and even overwhelmed by them.

There is nothing I can really change about how other people act or treat me, but I can change how I choose to react. Not only that, I can change how I choose to view my world. Both Sasquatch and T-Rex are sleeping right now. Part of me thinks I should be working out. Yet, I know that there won’t be many more 70 degree days this year. So, I’m sitting on my hammock. Life doesn’t really get better than this…

My Backyard...I'm Jealous of Me

There are a lot of things that I still need to do today. I haven’t exercised, there are dishes that need to be done. I have to prepare for mutual. I have other things on my mind, too. But for now, I’m going to enjoy the weather, sit back for a second, and show my gratitude for the beauty of my life by experiencing it rather than busy-ing myself to death.

(Don’t you think that I’ll end this post without a scriptural tie-in)…

Sometimes, I feel like I have to justify my desire to sit down and experience the beauty of Christ’s gifts. I mean, I really do feel a little guilty for sitting on the hammock right now. I’m not one of those women who needs to feel “babied.” I like working hard. I know that there is much for me to do. I don’t like to complain, and I don’t consider myself to be a woman who always feels like I need “me” time…All of that being said, there are times when I tend to forget “that good part.”

“Now it came to pass, as they went, that [Jesus] entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.

And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.

And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.” – Luke 10:38-42

There are times when I am “careful and troubled about many things:”. I begin to fret, complain, and sometimes even murmur. I am sometimes tempted to think that things would be better if I didn’t have so many obligations and duties. Instead of learning to balance them out, I just keep piling them on, until like Martha, I want to whine and request for help. (Now, don’t get me wrong, here. I really like Martha. She’s pretty amazing. But I think there were times when she got caught up in her expectations.)

Christ’s tender response was not that she should continue to work harder, but that, perhaps, not everything that she busied herself was needful. It may have been nice, but not necessary – even if it is was to serve the Savior.

Do you do that? I totally DO! Being “cumbered about much, serving” can seem pretty awesome, and often, it is. But there’s a point – when the frenzy is just that: frenzy. And instead of receiving spiritual nourishment from sacrifice and service, we become tired and maybe even resentful.

So…today, I’m choosing “that good part.” I will choose to identify beauty around me, and love every second of it. I’m going to sit on a hammock, read my scriptures, maybe even snooze. And in about 30 minutes, I’ll be back “on” kids will be home, but I think I’ll feel ready to tackle the rest of the day.

This Holiday season, I’ll choose “that good part”. Of course I’ll cook and wrap presents. But maybe I’ll scale a few things back so that I can actually sit and read a story with my kids, or make a Christmas craft, or even just sit and listen to Handel’s Messiah.

And, above all, instead of following the expectations that have been placed on me, I’ll follow the Spirit.
What do you do to remember “that good part?” I recognize that the title of this blog is “that good part.” Can you tell I have a problem with this sometimes?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m the same way. I loved Elder Uchtdorf’s talk at the Relief Socity General broadcast when he talked about sacrifices. He’s right. Sometimes we do make sacrifices that aren’t really necessary, and generally when I do that the sacrifice/service doesn’t nourish me, it makes me resentful.

    What I do to remember that good part is I make sure I take time to read my scriptures and really talk and listen to my husband. A good conversation between the two of us always helps me to realize where I’ve been frenetically overdoing.

    I also love to be in nature-especially on a fall day that you just described-it’s like touching heaven.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment. I also loved when Elder Uchtdorf spoke about wise and reasonable sacrifices. In a way, like Christ, he dismissed us from the conventional tradition, and allowed us to do the needful thing – that which nourishes our souls.

      The hardest thing about that is just remembering what is needful and what is superfluous. At least I have a tough time with that. You give great ideas – study the scriptures and talk and listen to your spouse I love that! I will remember that! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Great goals for Christmas here! Just enjoy it! 🙂 Love that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 261 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
