Lehi’s Dream

I love Lehi’s Dream. It is one of the most informative and uplifting vision in all of recorded scripture. If you are not familiar with it, you can read it 1 Nephi 8. A few years ago, I “illustrated” Lehi’s dream – using mixed media. I’ve decided to post it here. I hope you enjoy.

Lehi’s Dream

“And it came to pass that while my father tarried in the wilderness, he spake unto us, saying: Behold, I have dreamed a dream; or, in other words, I have seen a vision…

And it came to pass that I saw a man and he was dressed in a white robe, and he came and stood before me…

And it came to pass that as I followed him I beheld myself that I was in a dark and dreary waste.” – 1 Nephi 8:2, 5, 7

“And it came to pass after I had seen the tree, I said unto the Spirit: I behold thou hast shown unto me the tree which is precious above all.

And he said unto me: What desirest thou?

And I said unto him: To know the interpretation thereof – For I spake unto him as a man speaketh…

And it came to pass that I looked and beheld the great city of Jerusalem, and also other cities…and in the city of Nazareth I beheld a virgin, and she was exceedingly fair and white…

And he said unto me: Behold the virgin whom thou seest is the mother of the Son of God, after the manner of the flesh…

And I looked and beheld the virgin again, bearing a child in her arms.

And the angel said unto me: Behold the lamb of God, Yea, even the Son of the Eternal Father. Knowest thou the meaning of the tree which thy father saw?

And I answered him, saying: Yea, it is the love of God, which sheddeth itself abroad in th ehearts of the children of men; wherefore, it is the most desirable above all things.” – 1 Nephi 11:9-11, 13, 15, 18, 20-22

“And I also cast my eyes round about, and beheld, on the other side of the river of water, a great and spacious building; and it stood as it were in the air, high above the earth.

And it was filled with people, both old and young, both male and female; and their manner of dress was exceedingly fine; …

“And the multitude of the earth was gathered together; and I beheld that they were in a large and spacious building which my father saw. And the angel of the Lord spake unto me again, saying: Behold the world and the wisdom thereof; yea, behold the house of Israel hath gathered together to fight against the twelve apostles of the lamb.

And it came to pass that I saw and bear record, that the great and spacious building was the pride of the world; and it fell, and the fall thereof was exceedingly great.” – 1 Nephi 8:26-27; 11:35-36

“But to be short in writing, behold, he saw other multitudes pressing forward; and they came and caught hold on the end of the [iron rod]; and they did press their way forward, continually holding fast to the rod of iron, until they came forth and fell down and partook of the fruit of the tree.

Wherefore, the wicked are rejected from the righteous, and also from that tree of life, whose fruit is most precious and most desirable above all other fruits; yea, and it is the greatest of all the gifts of God.” – 1 Nephi 8:30, 15:36

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Wow, that is really neat!!!

    Reply
  2. Lisa S

     /  October 22, 2011

    Loved it ……very good visuals

    Reply
  3. Very cool!

    Reply
  4. Christy

     /  October 23, 2011

    Wow!! Fantastic!! =)

    Reply
  5. I love your artwork. This is another one of my favorite Book of Mormon stories.

    Reply
  6. Wow. I hope you’ve framed and hung these somewhere. SO awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
