What Am I Teaching? (Enos 1:1-3)

Recently, the following has been a really favorite scripture of mine:

” 1 Behold, it came to pass that I, Enos, knowing my father that he was a just man—for he taught me in his language, and also in the nurture and admonition of the Lord—and blessed be the name of my God for it—

2 And I will tell you of the wrestle which I had before God, before I received a remission of my sins.

3 Behold, I went to hunt beasts in the forests; and the words which I had often heard my father speak concerning eternal life, and the joy of the saints, sunk deep into my heart.” = Enos 1:1-3

I love this scripture block because we get an insight on how to be an effective and great parent. Kind of – I guess. Here, Enos tells us that Jacob was just, and that he taught his son in his language and in the “nurture and admonition of the Lord.”

I just realized, I’ve written about this before. But, it is still relevant in my life, as I’m still a parent!

The thing about Jacob and Enos, Jacob’s teaching was effective enough to have an impact on Enos. While Enos is on his own, Jacob’s words sunk deep into Enos’s heart – causing Enos’s soul to hunger. Consequently, Enos “wrestled before God.” This brought upon a change of heart and commitment to the Lord. We can see that Jacob’s teaching and parenting had a big impact, positively, on Enos.

So – here’s the thing, it makes me ask, What am I teaching my children? What do I want to be teaching my children?

There are times when I’m teaching my children things that aren’t great. I teach them (through example) to eat too many sweets. I may also be teaching them to be impatient. There are times, when I teach them to be a slob! Anyways – these things are important to know, but I don’t want to dwell on them.

I want to think about what I am teaching them.

  • I am teaching them how to pray.
  • I am teaching them how to read the scriptures. I hope that they will also learn to love them.
  • I am teaching them to serve the Lord.
  • I am teaching them that motherhood is important.
  • I am teaching them that Christ is our Savior.
  • I am teaching them that they are beloved daughters (and a beloved son!) of God.

I hope to teach them so much more, too. I hope to teach them to be creative, kind, happy, active. I hope to teach them to be curious, hard-working, compassionate, and balanced. I hope to teach them that they have power within them – to be the kind of people that Heavenly Father sees. I hope they learn to stay true to themselves while true to the Lord.

I hope that they will learn how to be truly happy.

What are you teaching your children, or those children that you influence?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I think I’m teaching my one baby that I love her no matter what. That she can trust me, and that the world isn’t a scary place, but one full of wonder and discover. I hope I’m teaching her that families are full of love, and that I value being a wife and mother above all else. I hope I’m teaching her that I love God and His gospel, that prayer is important, and that I love the scriptures.

    It’s hard to tell since she’s just 7 months old, but hey I try. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment.

      Even though she’s only seven months, I’m sure that she has already begun to learn what you’re teaching.

      Earlier this year, I had a son. When we had him, my older three went to stay at a friend’s house. Our youngest (at the time) was not quite two. We were amazed at how clingy she was when we came back with the baby. She was worried we would leave her again. We could see that it made a huge impression. Her reaction made an impact on me, too. I realized that kids really do need our consistency, love, and support. While kids are adaptable, they are also impressionable. Even though our little girl wasn’t old enough to speak well, we could see that this little even had changed her in a small way. This experience reinforced to me the importance of holding family home evening, family scripture study, and family prayer while my kids are young – even when they are less than a year old! They are learning so much!

      Anyways – thanks again for the comment! 🙂 And keep up with the good work you’re doing with your family.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
