Making Meaning (Part Two) and Doing God’s Will (for me) – (D&C 76:10 and 124:5)

I’m still thinking a lot about making meaning. I’m realizing that, for me, making meaning is about doing what God’s will (for me) is. In other words, it is about doing what I was sent here to do. In my patriarchal blessing, there is a conditional phrase:

“If you do what you were sent here to do,…”

And I’ve been thinking about that.
1 I was sent here to do something.
2 I need to figure out what that is.
3 I need to do it.

As I was studying the scriptures today, I came across the following:

“10 For by my Spirit will I enlighten them, and by my power will I make known unto them the secrets of my will…” – Doctrine and Covenants 76:10

and

” 5For it shall be given you by the Holy Ghost to know my will…” – Doctrine and Covenants 124:5

I like knowing this. Having the Holy Ghost is the key. It is the Holy Ghost that will help me know what I need to do in my life. I need to take steps to be sure that His influence is always felt by me. Obviously, this means I should pray and read scriptures. But I think that it means more than that, too. I need to purge my life of the distractions that keep me from feeling His spirit or acting on the promptings that I feel.

As I continue down the path of my life, I recognize that the Lord will not make every decision for me. The Holy Ghost may guide at times, but other times, He will be our companion, as we make decisions on our own. I feel, very strongly, that Heavenly Father wants us to exercise our own agency. He wants us to solve our own problems and then come to Him for confirmation.

In other words, just because the Holy Ghost will enlighten my mind to know the will of God doesn’t mean that the Lord will actually make my choices. Instead, I must be like the Brother of Jared – come up with a solution, and even do work for it, then I need to take this solution to the Lord for confirmation. His spirit will guide me and strengthen me on the way.

I can’t think of anything more empowering than finding meaning in life, making wise decisions, getting the confirmation and support from the Lord to execute such goal, and doing the work to see it through.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 261 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
