The Book of Mormon: My Testimony

Have you seen this new video on Mormon Messages?

I love the powerful testimony of an apostle. As I watched it, I thought that I’d like to write my own testimony of the Book of Mormon.

I have a testimony of the Book of Mormon – that it is the word of God, that it is a testament of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

I have read the Book of Mormon many times. Every time I read it, I’m overcome by impact that it has had in my life.

As a youth, I don’t think that I ever really doubted the Book of Mormon. It seemed good to me. While in high school, I had the blessing to attend early morning seminary. Hands down, my favorite year was when I studied the Book of Mormon. I had never read the entire Book of Mormon before that year. Even though I didn’t have some staggering revelation about the Book of Mormon, I found that going to daily seminary classes brought peace and direction in my life. Even though I made mistakes, I found that I had hope through repentance and through the message of salvation that was contained in the pages of the Book of Mormon.

As I’ve matured, so has my testimony in the Book of Mormon. The Book of Mormon has been daily influence in my life. Sometimes, the influence of the Book of Mormon is very obvious. I have been directed and impacted by specific words. For example, there was a moment, when I was a single mother, and I felt my world crashing around me. I had to go to court – concerning receiving child support. I was overwhelmed and frustrated, and I had little support. After meeting with the lawyer, where I even started crying out of frustration, I sat in my car…so overcome by the difficulty of the situation I was in. I didn’t understand how to get out of my predicament or why the government made it so hard for responsible parents to be responsible. (In other words, why was the government rewarding delinquent parents?!). I wasn’t going to be able to solve this problem, and I was frustrated because I didn’t know what to do next. I sat in my car, in the ‘hood, crying. I tried calling a friend, but she wasn’t home. I called another friend, but her line was busy. Then, something caught my eye that was sitting in the front seat: I had been working on a Book of Mormon Challenge project, and thought that, since I couldn’t get a hold of my friends, and since I was so worked up, I’d read a few pages and knock out the day’s reading assignment before going back to work. Within a few minutes, I read the following verse:

“…for I will contend with him that contendeth with thee, and I will save thy children.” – 1 Nephi 21:25

Those words comforted me more completely and quickly than anything that a friend, family member, or lawyer could have said. I knew that the Lord knew my situation. I knew that he cared more for my children than I did, and I knew that he would not let them suffer unnecessarily. Even though my problems remained, I was filled with a sense of calm and peace. And, eventually, things have worked out better than I ever could have imagined.

Although the last example was a way when the Book of Mormon made a direct impact in my life, more often than not, I’m influenced by the Book of Mormon in a more subtle way. I can see that years of studying its words have helped me to understand the gospel. More importantly, by going to the Book of Mormon on a daily basis, I have been able to strengthen my relationship with my Savior.

I know that if you take the time to read the Book of Mormon and pray about it, genuinely, will find that it is true. And why is that a big deal? – You will find that the Book of Mormon becomes an open door to feel the love that Heavenly Father has for you.

So…if you are reading this post, and you have not read the Book of Mormon, go ahead, check it out for yourself, and open your heart for the love that God has for you.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your testimony to me. I sit here in tears because right now in my life I am struggling with issues of child support and the mess that comes with it. I have been a member all my life but my husband was not a member until 4 years ago. 3 years ago after being married 9 years we were able to finally be sealed together along with or 4 little girls. Now 3 years later he is living with another women (even though we are not divorced yet) and she is pregnant with his child. He abandoned me and my girls with no way for me to provide for myself or our children (I had been a stay at home mom for the past 9 years). He has not paid one penny in child support and has betrayed us every chance he got. After struggling to take care of all of us without help these past few months I find out that he has plans to take the kids to do some awesome things on one of his weekends that he has them. This has really bothered me because I can not even afford to take them out to eat at McDonald’s. I have tried so hard to let this go. I came to my room to open my scriptures if for nothing else to escape my problems. I saw that you had a new post and decided to take a moment to read though your blog before I got started (well I might have been procrastinating a little). When I read this post however I knew that I was lead here. I have always known through all of this mess that the Lord was with me. He knew what I was going through and I can honestly say that I have seen more miracles happen in my life in the past 6 months then I have seen in the past 32 yrs. There are moments where I slip though, I temporarily forget that His hand are in everything. This post was a great reminder to me that I don’t need to worry about those things. I just need to live the way He wants me too and just be the best mom I can be and He will take care of the rest. Sorry for such a long comment I just felt that you might understand a little about where I was coming from and I hope because of that you can truly know how much I appreciate your testimony 🙂 Thanks again

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment. It is funny, when I wrote that post, I didn’t intend on sharing the experience, but it just came out.

      Your situation sounds so difficult and frustrating. But keep going forward in faith. It is so hard, and so tiring, but I know (and I’m sure you also know) that it is worth it. Although my time as a single mother and my divorce was one of the hardest periods of my life, it changed me in a positive way. I remember while meeting with my bishop, he remarked, “The Lord is working a miracle in you.” Sure, I’d been a witness to the many miracles he had done for me, but I didn’t realize that really I was the miracle. I think that’s the way it is for all of us – when we struggle through trials. He’s purifying us. He’s making us into something miraculous.

      Anyways…I hope you can continue to feel the strength and peace of the Lord, and the assurance that He knows your situation, and will bless you with His best blessings when the time is right.

      Reply
  2. seansto

     /  October 22, 2012

    Amazing. I too have found that the Book of Mormon, when the spirit is invited, can be a better friend than any other. Thanks for sharing this sweet and touching story.

    Reply
  3. Would you be willing to share your testimony on http://www.bomtt.com? This site translates your testimony into many languages – whatever the reader wants to read it in.

    Reply
  4. This is beautiful. I’m currently working on a section for my blog in which I give my testimony of the Book of Mormon. Thank you for yours.

    Reply
  1. Service and The Book of Mormon – Scripture Chain « That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
