Young Women’s Lesson 3-2 – Coming to Know the Savior

I find that the lessons in the young women’s manual have really great and important objectives/principles that need to be taught. I’m just not sure that the lesson plan is the best way to teach them.

I know – there are a lot of people who complain about the lessons. Unfortunately, I tend to do the same. I don’t complain about the actual lesson – I haven’t found any problem with any of the over-arching principles or objectives to be taught. I just have a tough time with some of the stories and discussion points. I remember a lot of these stories from when I was a teenager – and I wasn’t fond of them then, either.

So…I taught the second lesson from Manual 3 – Coming to Know the Savior. I had a few tweaks for it. Instead of telling the story about the two dudes in heaven, I thought it would be more productive to take the young women to the scriptures. We read the account of Mary Magdalene at Christ’s tomb – when she saw the resurrected Savior.

You can find my full lesson plan here.

A few notes:

  • Take the discussion of John 20:1-16 relatively slowly. Pause after a few verses to make sure that the students know what is going on. Make sure to ask a lot of questions that help to search and analyze the facts of the scripture block.
  • One of the young women in my class asked why Mary couldn’t recognize the Savior at first. We then read the account of the Savior on the road to Emmaus found in Luke 24:13-32. We discussed how these two disciples also had a tough time recognizing the resurrected Savior. We discussed how knowing the Savior requires more than just knowledge about him – these disciples knew the details of the Savior’s life – but knowing the savior requires faith. This is why Mary could recognize him as he called out her name. This is why the two disciples eventually recognized the Lord.
  • Because our scripture discussion took so long, I didn’t have enough time to go through all of the points on how to develop a relationship with the Savior. We spoke only of Prayer and scripture study.
  • In our ward, we are challenging the young women to study the New Testament this year. I finished the lesson by handing out little memo pads with a picture of the Savior glued to the front.

This lesson went well. We spent most of our time in the scriptures – the real source for coming to know the Savior. The young women seemed engaged not only in our discussion but in the story. I feel like the youth hunger to have more experiences with the Spirit and the scriptures.

Above all, we were all motivated to increase our relationship with the Savior.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. AWESOME! I think it’s imperative to plant seeds for the youth to know they can find answers, peace, and joy in the scriptures —– REAL events that happened….not just made up stories that try to make a point. It seems to me that personal study and preparation, and then going by the Spirit trump any outline of a lesson! WAY TO GO!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Yeah, it’s too bad that these lessons are so antiquated. I’ve heard that they are trying to make new curricula for the Young Women, but I’m sure that it will take a little while. In the meantime, it’s all about the scriptures. And the young women like it better anyways. (I’m happy – because then I don’t have to tell crazy stories about how someone broke the commandments and died

      Reply
  2. Kimberly

     /  January 19, 2011

    I hated the YW lessons when I was in YW, glad to see you doing something different, something more scriptural.

    Reply
    • Thanks Kimberly. It was a struggle when I started in the Young Women’s. A part of me feels like I can’t deviate from the lesson plan. However, I feel like if we’re staying with the principles taught and bringing the young women into the scriptures then it will be a better learning experience for everyone.

      Even if, years from now, they don’t remember the specific lesson that was taught, I hope that they will learn that they can always go to the scriptures.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
