Diligence and Charity: Christ’s Example – 1 Nephi 19:9

So…for the new year, I’ve decided to make Charity and Diligence my theme mottoes. In doing so, I thought it would be good for my final month of BofM-X to study the Book of Mormon – specifially looking for scriptures/examples/information on being charitable and diligent.

I came across this scripture that I really liked:

“And the world, because of their iniquity, shall judge him to be a thing of naught; wherefore they scourge him, and he suffereth it; and they smite him, and he suffereth it. Yea, they spit upon him, and he suffereth it, because of his loving kindness and his long-suffering towards the children of men.” – 1 Nephi 19:9

This scripture gives a prophecy of Christ – his life on the earth. And, as usual, Christ proves to be the perfect example.

Christ did suffer everything that came His way – he was diligent. He didn’t get bogged down by difficulty, adversity, or persecution. And this scripture tells us how he did it – through his charity towards us.

Because of Christ’s love for us (and for His Father), he was motivated and strenghtened as He endured every trial and pain of his life, the atonement, and his crucifixion.

I love this example because I don’t ever think I reconized the connection between diligence and charity. Usually, I think of diligence as a “mind over matter” issue. But it is more than that. Diligence – the kind of diligence I seek – the kind of diligence that leads to true discipleship – is based in love.

If I increase my love towards God, He will bless me with His love. As I’m filled with His charity, I will be strengthened and able to continue on in the path of righteousness – diligently.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kimberly

     /  January 7, 2011

    Beautiful, diligence springing from love is exactly right. That’s why I do my callings and read my scriptures and everything else I do-love for my savior or for my family.

    Reply
    • thanks kimberly,
      it is amazing how simple the doctrines of the gospel can be – and how they work together. I’m hoping that as i develop charity, i’ll be able to be more diligent. Of course, then- through diligence, my charity should increase…etc…I love how good things tend to be an “upward spiral”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
