Young Women’s Lesson 2-34: Hold Fast to the Lord’s Standards

First of all, the lesson plan from the manual can be found here.

As usual, in preparing this lesson, there was a lot that I liked from the manual, but I also felt that we’d need to spend a little bit more time in the scriptures. I wanted to make sure that the lesson was relevant. So, I made my own variation of the lesson, and you can find it here.

When preparing this lesson, I was first struck by the quote given by Spencer W. Kimball. We have had a few devastating tsunamis throughout the world recently, and I thought that the young women would really relate to this idea.

Of course, as I was studying the lesson, I felt like I wanted to find a few examples from more recent events – just because I knew that the Young Women would already be familiar with the tsunami in general. So, I searched a little bit, and found two really good examples. (I also included a picture of some of the tsunami devastation, which was a good visual for the girls…it is insane to think of the destructive power it had).

The examples were very effective, and here are a few things that I loved about each example-

The first example – is about a man who held on tight to a large beam – it was firmly planted just like the trees that Spencer W. Kimball mentions. So – this man did hold fast in order to save his life. Sometimes, we cannot control the spiritual elements which we are in. So, we need to know how to survive them. This story helped to apply such a principle.

The second example I found was about a tribal people that lived in Indonesia – the Moken People (also referred to as Sea Gypsies). These people understood all of the signs well before the tsunami struck the land, and all of them were able to escape any of the devastating effects of the tidal wave. I loved that this also teaches a lesson – we can be close to the Lord, and know in advance how to avoid some “spiritual tsunamis.”

As I told each story, the young women were very captivated. It was a good way to start the lesson.

I kept with the basic outline of the lesson given in the manual. After introducing the topic, we moved to The Adversary tries to keep us from following the Lord’s Standards. I thought that this portion of the lesson was important, but I also felt I needed to present it in a way that would not turn off the young women.

I guess what I’m saying is, we talk a lot about how Satan is bad. He’s trying to destroy us. Sometimes, I feel like, as leaders, we can sound like a broken record. We can sound a little “old-fashioned.”

I don’t mind being old fashioned, but I also don’t want the young women to tune me out. Even though I know that Satan is real, and he is trying to destroy us, I wanted to express this to the young women in a very genuine way.

So, I spent a few minutes letting them know that I didn’t want to “scare” them into keeping the commandments.

After this discussion – about me not fear-mongering, yet that doesn’t change the fact that Satan is real, and he is really trying to destroy each of us, I presented an example from the scriptures. We spent a lot of time going over the story of Amalickiah and Lehonti. I feel like this did a good job of teaching how Satan “leads with a flaxen cord” – through the cunning example of Amalickiah.

During this discussion, the young women were completely engaged, and even began commenting on Lehonti (“Why is he agreeing with Amalickiah! Doesn’t he know that he’s evil?!”). We were becoming pressed for time, so I found myself doing a mix of paraphrasing and also having the young women read directly from the scriptures.

I didn’t have enough time to do all that I planned (eg: I didn’t read the quote included by Sister Dalton), but I did make sure to take the time to tie it all together. We brought up how we could make sure we don’t get consumed by the tricks of the adversary. We discussed how we could make sure we were safe from the tidal wave of sin that we seem to be in.

Anyway – I hope that this helps if you are preparing a lesson for your class. If you do find these blogs helpful, let me know. I’d love to get any input if you have it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
