Book of Mormon Study: True to the Faith

Our Bishop recently asked the youth and leaders to read the Book of Mormon by August 14th. I was going to start it a couple of weeks ago, but I wanted to finish a different scripture project that I was working on first.

So, now I’ve got that done, and I’m ready to start reading the Book of Mormon. I’ve read it a number of times. I like to read with a purpose.

I was thinking and thinking – what should I do.

Well…it just so happens that the Bishop also asked us to learn the song “True to the Faith“. While prayerfully considering what topic I should look for as I read the Book of Mormon, I was prompted to read with this hymn in mind.

So, that’s what I’m doing. I’m reading 18-25 pages a day (about an hour), and I’m looking for the following themes:

  • The Faith – as in, what is this faith that we’re being true to? What is it we believe? What is it we’re defending?
  • The Youth of Zion – I want to find examples of the youth of Zion in the scriptures. Already, I’ve found that sometimes there are righteous and not so righteous youth. I’m also looking for ways that the youth of Zion ought to be.
  • Defending the gospel – I want to find examples of people who defend the gospel – who defend the faith – who defend truth and right. If we are going to be called to do so (which we will, if we haven’t already), then it makes sense to find the examples in the scriptures and learn from them.

In doing this project, I thought I’d start a little blog specifically for this reading. I don’t want to include all of my thoughts here. I want to do this project every day. So, if you want to check out the status of this project, you can head to The Daily Ponderer and check out the True to the Faith project. This is more journal-like, and a little more scattered in thoughts and ideas. Today’s post took forever to write, so I’m sure that an evolution will be occuring.

Anyway. That’s what’s going on with that project. I’m looking forward to it. I’ll still keep posting my normal stuff here a couple of times a week. Check out the project from time to time, though. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
