Peace on Earth

“Therefore, renounce war and proclaim peace, and seek diligently to turn the hearts of the children to their fathers, and the hearts of the fathers to the children;” – Doctrine and Covenants 98:16

I came across this scripture during my scripture study-time a few days ago, and I was struck by the connection between peace and the Spirit of Elijah.

Of course, I think that peace is a good idea. In fact, I pray for peace. I pray to feel peace in my home. I pray for peace in my relationships. When I listen to the news or am confronted with information about others who suffer – especially in wars/violence, I pray that they may know the blessing of peace.

The idea of renouncing war and proclaiming peace is pretty simple, and it seems like the verse in the Doctrine and Covenants could have ended there, but it didn’t. We pursue peace and then seek to turn the hearts of the children to their fathers and fathers to their children. What does this have to do with peace?

In some ways, everything.

Maybe, when we turn our hearts to our fathers, we become more understanding. We allow our perspectives to broaden.

We also, more often than not, will run into times when our fathers were persecuted. Perhaps a memory of this persecution will help us to think twice before we exercise judgment against others.

On the other hand, if we are being persecuted, then, perhaps a memory of our fathers (and mothers!) will give us the strength to endure persecution peacefully – rather than vengefully.

Above all, I think that the connection given in this verse alludes to the temple. If we seek diligently to turn the hearts of the children to the fathers – by seeking diligently to bring the temple to them, and encouraging all to do the ordinance work for their ancestors, then what is the obvious result: Peace.

The temple is a place of peace. It fills our lives with the Spirit. We can experience such comfort even amidst trial by letting the spirit of the temple fill our entire lives. The work of the temple is what will bring all of us lasting peace.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Angela

     /  April 17, 2010

    What a great connection! I think you hit the nail on the head with the idea that we gain peace by reflecting on the victory of our ancestors and drawing strength from that. Elder Neil L. Anderson gave a great quote that talks about the power of our righteous example but I’m sure that it can easily apply to our ancestors and our relation to them…

    “As we are righteous, there is a power in the priesthood that passes through us into our posterity, shaping their eternity as it shapes ours.”

    This is a truly cool devotional given at BYU May 16, 2006 entitled “Seeing Through the Generations”

    It gets a little heavy on the science -geeky side…but I love that stuff. πŸ™‚ It gives an amazing perspective on time and some other cool concepts. A must read when considering greater conversion to understanding both sides of the “turn[ing] the hearts of the children to their fathers, AND the hearts of the fathers to the children;”

    And just as a quick personal testimonial/insight for looking at the other direction and gaining peace from the other side of the generational circle. Just recently I have noticed that as I have been focusing my life more on the Savior and am aligning my priorities as a mom with that center, with the help of the Holy Ghost, I have found great peace in and throughout my day….along with exhaustion, but I think it is worth it! πŸ™‚ I know, I always have to include that tangible, practical edge. I seriously need to upgrade from the Mosaic law. Sheezz!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 257 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
