Glorification of Christ

“Yea, thus saith the Spirit: Repent, all ye ends of the earth, for the kingdom of heaven is soon at hand; yea, the Son of God cometh in his glory, in his might, majesty, power, and dominion. Yea, my beloved brethren, I say unto you, that the Spirit saith: Behold the glory of the King of all the earth; and also the King of heaven shall very soon shine forth among all the children of men.” – Alma 5:50

“Let the mountains shout for joy, and all ye valleys cry aloud; and all ye seas and dry lands tell the wonders of your Eternal King! And ye rivers, and brooks, and rills, flow down with gladness. Let the woods and all the trees of the field praise the Lord; and ye solid rocks weep for joy! And let the sun, moon, and the morning stars sing together, and let all the sons of God shout for joy! And let the eternal creations declare his name forever and ever! And again I say, how glorious is the voice we hear from heaven, proclaiming in our ears, glory, and salvation, and honor, and immortality, and eternal life; kingdoms, principalities, and powers!” – D&C 128:23

I don’t know why it has taken me so long to finally post this. I should have had this series done weeks ago. But at least I’m finishing!

Throughout these scriptures, we’ve studied a lot about Christ – what naturally comes when we study Him is a deepened sense of love and gratitude for Him. As our relationship with Him grows, we become more aware of our dependence on Him.

I have a testimony that Jesus Christ is my Savior. Though I don’t totally understand how deeply the atonement affects me, I have seen many blessings in my life. I know that the Lord has blessed me, personally. I have felt His mercy and love. It is overwhelming.

I feel like praising him. I feel like Nephi who said, “I glory in plainness; I glory in truth; I glory in my Jesus, for he hath redeemed my soul from hell.” – 2 Nephi 33:6. I have felt these blessings in my life. I have seen miracles take place in my life, and I know that the only explanation is the grace and mercy of Christ – and His atonement.

As I’ve felt this love for my Savior grow, I want to join the choruses that praise Christ. I’m grateful to know that, despite His rejection during His life on earth, He will be glorified. He will be our King forever.

***
To see the rest of the If Handel had been a Mormon please click here.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Angela

     /  March 10, 2010

    Ahhh…. זה נגמר (it is finished!) After I finished reading this piece, it made me stop to reflect how Handel must have felt after he finished creating his masterpiece. It also caused me to reflect on what the Savior felt as He finished His work here on the Earth. Which made me wonder if I will have that same combination of pure physical/emotional/mental exhaustion, that complete exhilaration of joy, with the capstone of peace sealed by the holy spirit of promise, when my work is done. I am grateful for the gospel perspective that enables us to be able to take our little victories throughout our lives, as we have done our best, whether it be cleaning a toilet to creating an awesome blog 😉 that we can get a little snippet of what it will be like as we return back to our Father’s presence and be welcomed home knowing we have been faithful in doing the work that He has sent us forth to do. The Lord truly does give us everything we need. My heart is full of humility for His grace and gratitude for His care. And yet, I feel akin to Alma in Alma 29:1 “Oh that I were an angel….that I might go forth…… with a voice to shake the earth.” to tell one and all about the glorious message of the gospel of Jesus Christ. And to think this feeling all started from reading a lil’ ol’ entry in a lil’ ol’ blog. It truly is through small and simple things that great things are brought to pass.
    (Alma 37:6-7)

    Reply
    • Thanks for the kind comments, Angela. I agree, there is a feeling of happiness when we finish something good. I forget to take the moment to enjoy that feeling – as I’m swept away by all of the new goals I’ve set. However, I agree – God did take time to notice that his work was good.

      I’m also amazed by the concept that our success is His Glory. (As in – our eternal life is His glory). And that all he has done are works that will help us to acheive that end. I am beginning to understand a little bit of that as I’ve become a parent. I often find that the successes of my children bring me great joy – perhaps more joy than it brings them! Then, I’m reminded of our Heavenly Father who loves us more perfectly than I can love my children, and I think of the immense joy He feels when we do what is right – and when we are happy.

      And, when we recognize the Lord’s hand in our lives, and that we are powerless, and that He is powerful – yet loves us so much to bless us with the tenderest of blessings, I think that we naturally want to praise him more – and do as both you and Alma suggest – wish that we were angels who could proclaim the gospel to the entire earth.

      This is a long response. but two more things.
      1. Do you know hebrew? If so, how do I learn it? Can you teach???
      2. I love that you naturally quote scriptures. Elder Eyring, in an interview with the Ensign said, “In time, if you truly begin to feast upon the scriptures, you will find that they become a part of you. I remember that with Elder Bruce R. McConkie (1915–85) of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, who was as familiar with the scriptures as anyone I know. I would sometimes listen to him and say to myself, ‘Now is he quoting the scriptures, or are those his own words?’
      President Gordon B. Hinckley is the same way. His ordinary speech is scriptural prose, and even in his pleasant, easy moments, that prose is a part of him. I think he has a great literary gift, in part because of his knowledge of the scriptures. I was with him just the other day when he very casually pulled a scripture into the conversation and it fit perfectly. Obviously the scriptures are in him; they’re part of him.’ (see this article.) I think that this may be happening to you!!! Super-duper rad! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Angela

     /  March 17, 2010

    Thanks for the compliment. It is difficult for me to see my own progress. 🙂 Thanks for the Eyring link. I love any insight on how to increase my effectuality in scripture study, not only with self but with family. There seems to be a upward helix between gaining increased testimony and sharing it with others. I LOVE IT! Oh, and I loved your insight on how our success is God’s glory. I don’t think I had translated that thought down to me and my experience as a parent. Love that tangible link to my Heavenly Father in the personal progress chain. I can never collect too many of those.
    🙂

    On to the questions –

    No, I do not know but a smattering of Hebrew. And that is just enough for trivial conversation, no real substance. Now, this questions is actually the cause of delay for answering your reply because you have peaked my interest with your interest in learning. Are you familiar with FARMS ? Brother Tvedness used to work on this project and used to teach up at BYU – Jerusalem. Not to mention a whole lot of other stuff…you should google him and read up on all his accomplishments. I emailed him and my old religion professor about attempting learning Hebrew self study. Both said it was difficult doing it that way but Bro. Satterfield gave me reference to a book that comes with a work book that you can purchase on Amazon that he said would be a good start and I have an email in to Bro. Tvedtness if he would be amenable to answering questions/tutoring. I’m still awaiting a reply on that. But I think I’m going to get the books and attempt the feat. I was always in awe when taking my old testament class up at BYU-I of how much of a difference in understanding that it made knowing Hebrew. So do you wanna add another log on the fire of personal progress goals?
    😉
    One is fun but two is funner!

    Reply
  1. If Handel had been a Mormon « thatgoodpart

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
