A Good Parent

There are a few scriptures that are classic “shout out’s” to parents. I’m thinking of 1 Nephi 1:1 (I Nephi, having been born of goodly parents,…) and also Alma 56:47 (the stripling warriors had been taught by their mothers…).

Today, I came across another scripture that really struck me. I think that it will also be helpful for the talk I’ve been assigned to give in two weeks.

“BEHOLD, it came to pass that I, Enos, knowing my father that he was a just man—for he taught me in his language, and also in the nurture and admonition of the Lord—and blessed be the name of my God for it—” – Enos 1:1

I’ve always loved the story of Enos, however, I’ve always focused on what happens next (his wrestle with God, which is a subject for a future blog, I’m sure)…This time, while reading it, I noticed the respect Enos pays to His father.

Jacob taught Enos

  1. In his language
    • I think that there are many theories on this – perhaps by this time the language spoken by the Nephites had varied from the Hebrew that was spoken by the family of Lehi when they left Jerusalem. Who knows?!
    • One thing we do know: the Book of Mormon was written in Reformed Egyptian. I’m supposing that Jacob taught Enos this language so that Enos could efficiently write in the small plates. You may be more keen on theories, so I should stop speculating here.
    • Enos was educated. He could understand the language of His fathers. He could read and write. These are important skills which we must impart to our children.
  2. The Nurture and Admonition of the Lord
    • Not only did Jacob teach Enos secular things, He also taught Enos spiritual things. He taught In the nurture of the Lord. I love this idea – because it is the Lord that Nurtures. Think of all the examples we have of Christ: Living water, Living bread, Bread of Life, the True Vine, etc. It is the Lord that nurtures us physically, emotionally, spiritually, and mentally. Jacob taught this to His son.

As I review my performance – as a parent – I think that it is good to see if I’m teaching my children the way that Jacob taught Enos. Am I teaching my children the things that they need to know to be successful in this world? Am I teaching them the things that will bring them happiness and satisfaction? Am I teaching them that they can find sustenance for all types of growth when they go to the Lord?

And…

Am I letting them exercise their agency. Jacob taught Enos, but he didn’t choose for Enos. We know, from Enos’s account, that Enos still had to have his own wrestle before God. Jacob simply taught Enos how to navigate this experience.

As I write this, the following keeps running through my mind:

“Lead me, guide me, walk beside me
Help me find the way.
Teach me all that I must do
To live with Him someday.” –

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Great post! I’ve never really pondered that verse. We just reached the book of Enos in our family study. I’ll share your insight with them.

    Reply
  1. What Am I Teaching? (Enos 1:1-3) « That Good Part

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
