Judgment

“And he shall rise the third day from the dead; and behold, he standeth to judge the world; and behold, all these things are done that a righteous judgment might come upon the children of men.
· · ·
For behold he judgeth, and his judgment is just; and the infant perisheth not that dieth in his infancy; but men drink damnation to their own souls except they humble themselves and become as little children, and believe that salvation was, and is, and is to come, in and through the atoning blood of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent.
· · ·
And thus saith the Lord: They shall stand as a bright testimony against this people, at the judgment day; whereof they shall be judged, every man according to his works, whether they be good, or whether they be evil.” – Mosiah 3:10, 18, 24

“And my Father sent me that I might be lifted up upon the cross; and after that I had been lifted up upon the cross, that I might draw all men unto me, that as I have been lifted up by men even so should men be lifted up by the Father, to stand before me, to be judged of their works, whether they be good or whether they be evil—” – 3 Nephi 27:14

So far, we’ve been reading a lot of scriptures on the Messiah’s life. In part three (starting with the last post), the scriptures are all about what Christ’s atonement means for us. Obviously, the sacrifice of the Lord redeems us all from death. However, Christ’s atonement also has a conditional aspect – and it is based on what we do.

There will be a time appointed when we are judged by Christ. Our judgment will be based on our works in this life. Christ is the righteous judge, which is why the judgment must come from Him.

As I think about the role of the Messiah, the judgment is not always obvious to me. I usually spend time thinking about things like his miraculous birth, his ministry, his excruciating death, and His resurrection. I think about His appearance to the Nephites, Joseph Smith, and to us in the future. I don’t often think about the judgment, but it is just as important as everything else Christ does, and the judgmnt has everything to do with the atonement.

I came across the following scripture in my study recently: “Know ye not that if ye will do these things, that the power of the redemption and the resurrection, which is in Christ, will bring you to stand with shame and awful guilt before the bar of God?” – Jacob 6:9. I have to admit that when I think of the power of the redemption of Christ, I usually think of resurrection and exaltation, I don’t remember the fact that the power of the redemption and resurrection is what will also bring us shame and guilt when we stand before God.

I don’t want to sound depressing. It is just a fact. The atonement is a two edged sword – and we all must make a choice about it. We cannot be neutral. On the one edge – we can face the Lord at the judgment having used the atonement wisely – and it will bring us peace and salvation. On the other hand, when we stand at the judgment, if we haven’t used the atonement wisely, it is what will cut us off from God.

I’m grateful for the judgement. It means I at least have the chance to make it. Without Christ, there would be no hope. I’m grateful to know that there is a Savior, and that because of Him, I have the potential to enjoy an eternity of peace and joy.

***
To read the rest of the “If Handel were a Mormon” scripture chain, click here.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
