New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve been making resolutions for years now. Sometimes, I do well with them. Other times, I kind of end up doing what we all seem to do: give up by January 4th.

This year, I’m taking a new approach – I want to develop a quality. I’ve decided that my motto for the year is:
Diligence

This can extend to every facet of my life: I can be a more diligent mother, wife, creator, exerciser, etc. I want to be diligent and organized. So that’s kind of the giant umbrella.

I once read that goals need to be “SMART” – Specific, Measureable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely. The “diligence” idea doesn’t really fit into this definition of a “smart” goal. So, I think that I’m breaking down this motto into many attainable goals.

As far as my spirituality is concerned: My goals include:

  1. Finish “Scripture Spiderweb” of Jacob, Enos, Jarom, Omni, and Words of Mormon
  2. Stay current with Sunday School and Relief Society Lessons
  3. Take 3 names from my Family to the temple
  4. 12 Temple Visits. – The stake presidency extended the challenge to do 12 temple visits. I’m not going to say that I’ll go to the temple monthly We have a young family, and the temple is a 4 hour drive (one way). Soon my sister will be moving to Oklahoma City, and I think that will make the temple trip more feasable. However, even though I can’t commit to the monthly idea, I know that I can do 12 temple visits. I know that when we get to the temple, I can do more than one session. And I know that we can still make it a priority in our lives. I’m hoping that we can go every other month, and then do multiple sessions at each visit.
  5. Help the girls get five generations of their family History
  6. Read the Old Testament.
  7. Keep up the Mo-blog (this one) 3 times a week
  8. DAILY Scripture study and prayer!!!!!

Okay, these goals seems lofty, but I think that I can do these things – this is a Year-long goal, so I hope to be able to accomplish each of these things by year’s end. Plus, I feel like, in completing each of these tasks, I will be a more diligent person (it will require DILIGENCE to really complete these things). I also think that diligence will come with accountability, so the blog will be the place for that. I’m formulating some ideas, and I hope to have one presented by the end of the week (tomorrow?)…

Thanks for reading.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I love your dedication to the temple. Here I live so close and have not made enough of an effort the past year. It’s one of the things I’m working on this year, too. Even if I don’t have time for a session, I probably do have time for initiatories.

    Reply
    • Julie,
      Thanks for the comment. You know – as far as the temple is concerned, I think that what is most important is that you make the best effort you can. When I lived in Utah, I was fortunate to find another woman who had children. We would do babysitting swaps. That enabled both of us to go often.

      Also, if you make time for any work in the temple, I know that you’ll be blessed – with the time to do it, and in many other ways in your life. Good luck with your goals!

      Reply
  2. Good luck with all your goals, they are great!

    This year the goals I’ve made are things to do daily, that will eventually equal great things in my life. They are: Study, to finish more classes this year than last; 100%, which is from young womens, it means to pray morning and night, read Book of Mormon 5 min a day and smile; Healthy Eating is the last, it’s for me and my family, I hope we can all be healthier this year.

    Reply
    • Your goals sound great, too. I like the 100% thing – I love that you included smile. šŸ˜€ sometimes it is hard to remember that we need to be happy.

      Healthy eating is a big one for us, too. I’m the main culprit behind my family’s treat problem. My husband is a health nut – which is helpful, but I’m the one who loves to bake and then eat the goodies, so I’m trying to cut out junk and add more good stuff, too.

      I hope that the resolutions go well for you and your family!

      Reply
  3. Here is some “light” reading (ha, pun intended) in case you are still interested in the topic of goals! I just listened to it on BYUtv and enjoyed it thoroughly. I had decided that I wasn’t interested in setting any goals this year (probably one of the reasons I got the topic I did to speak on in church) but realized that I was still inadvertently setting a goal not to set a goal, which is obviously counter productive. So while grappling with the idea of what goals to set, a friend of mine just happened to pass this devotional along. I will post a quote for a teaser and see if anyone else bites at the bait and there happens to be a discussion that follows.

    A vision is like a lighthouse which illuminates rather than limits, gives direction rather than destination. Almost all successful individuals and organizations have one thing in common: the power and depth of their vision. A positive, meaningful vision of the future supported by compelling goals provides purpose and direction in the present. [James J. Mapes, “Foresight First,” Sky Magazine, September 1991, p. 96]

    Reply
  4. Hmmm…not seeing the link

    so here is the info on the devotional

    The Dauntless Spirit of Resolution
    Howard W. Hunter
    5 Jan 1992

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment and for the info on the talk. (To put links in you have to know a small bit of html-ese)…I’ll have to check it out. I thought you did an excellent job on your talk a few weeks ago. I don’t know if I told you that in person or not, but I meant to. šŸ˜€

      I like how he talks about vision – and it being like a lighthouse. I remember hearing a talk about having an eye of faith, and how you can apply that to your own life. If you can’t see yourself as a something, then you’ll never be able to accomplish that goal.

      Also, I’ve noticed that when we set big goals, you eventually acheive something. I don’t get really hung up on the specifics of goals – when I look back. I make ultra specific goals, hoping that they will guide me to where I think I want to be. I’ve found that along the way, I’ve encountered new information and experiences that may re-shape the original goal, but I never would have made it even to that point without pursuing it in the first place. (I hope this makes sense.) Anyways. thanks again for commenting – always enlightening, and now I’m going to check out that talk!

      Reply
      • If anyone else reading wants the link to the article, here it is The Dauntless Spirit of Resolution. It is totally worth the read.

        Thanks for including it, Angela. I love when he talks about the folly of comparing ourselves with others. I’m constantly prone to doing that – even though I know better. It is always good to be reminded that, while it is important to progress and be better, we need to be fair to other and ourselves. Perhaps I need to make a new resolution – be less critical and more charitable.

        Well – thanks again for comment and the article!

  5. Angela

     /  January 6, 2010

    I can barely speak english, let alone html-ese! Thanks for the help and the link! I enjoyed the article as well. The two points that struck me in it were first, “Oh my goodness, I’m 30+ years old and I don’t have a vision, EEEK!” Maybe that should be my goal is to gain a clearer vision of what becoming a daughter of God is all about….that sounds like a blog experience all in itself. šŸ™‚ The second point that struck me was the point of attending to matters with a “full purpose of heart.” Having been a student of the last seven years of specifically how to become a disciple of Christ, I have a tendency to gravitate to those things that are process oriented and motive checking. Forgive me if this next part has an excel spreadsheet feel to it, I think better in the up and down format. (Also, please forgive me for the grammatical nightmare you are about to see) šŸ™‚
    So here are some of my thoughts and feelings on the subject.

    He listed out:

    “acting no hypocrisy and no deception before God – First question to ask ourselves is ‘why, do I want this?’ ‘Is this for God or man?’ Who would have thought that question that we learned to ask when we were 4 yrs old would be such an important one?! It is the first step, hence why we learn to ask it first.

    “but with real intent” – this to me is best defined by Elder Bednar’s May 2008 talk in general conference “Ask in Faith” when he was citing one of the reasons why the boy Joseph received the answer he did in a grove of trees. Joseph’s intent was to DO whatever the answer required of him. So this is a courage/backbone check. Are we willing to do what it takes or what is required of us to make it a reality?

    “repenting of your sins” – Notice on this phrase it is not repented as in ‘have we done it in the past?’ or going to repent like ‘will we do it in the future?’ but repenting as in acting in the here and now. No matter when we read this in our lives the question will always be ‘are we doing it now?’ Kind of gives you that feel for Kolob time! šŸ™‚ We can’t receive as much light if our conduit to receive light has objects that are obstructing the light from getting to us. The clarity of the conduit also helps with the efficacy of fulfilling that goal and the ability to extrapolate the lessons to be learned in helping us to progress towards our eternal goal.

    “witnessing to the Father that ye are willing to take upon you the name of Christ” – This one is tough one to put into words being in that I think it has to do with consecration/sanctification/sealing/etc.. Deep, deep stuff. But, I kind of leave with the idea that this is where we give the Lord back the 5 more talents that we gained in the process and showing Him how this experience has helped us to more closely follow the Savior and how we have helped to build His kingdom. In essence, accountability check. Maybe best said, Return and Report….

    Just some fun food for thought! It is nice to be able to sit and contemplate the things of a better world in the middle of the doldrums of the everyday! Thanks again for providing the medium!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
