Christ’s Identity

As Told by the Prophets

“He is the light and the life of the world; yea, a light that is endless, that can never be darkened; yea, and also a life which is endless, that there can be no more death.” – Mosiah 16:9

As Told by Jesus

“Behold, I am Jesus Christ the Son of God. I created the heavens and the earth, and all things that in them are. I was with the Father from the beginning. I am in the Father, and the Father in me; and in me hath the Father glorified his name.

I am the light and the life of the world. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end.” – 3 Nephi 9:15, 18

As told by Heavenly Father

“…I saw two Personages, whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air. One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other—This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him!” – JS-History 1:17

We have had many witnesses of the true identity of Jesus Christ. First of all, we have received witness of the divinity of Jesus Christ, and of His role as Savior and Redeemer from the Prophets. Jacob, in the book of Mormon, taught: “…Behold, I say unto you that none of the prophets have written, nor prophesied, save they have spoken concerning this Christ,” (Jacob 7:11). We have been blessed with prophets throughout the ages. Their testimonies are recorded in the scriptures. We also have a current prophet – Thomas S. Monson, and 12 living apostles. They, too bear apostolic witness of the Savior. We have their words available to us here.

In addition to the witnesses of the prophets, the true identity of Jesus Christ – as divine son of God and Savior and Redeemer, has been declared to us by Him. When he began His ministry, he recited the following scripture to the Jews: “THE Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD,” (Isaiah 61:1 – 2). He then explained, “This day is this scripture fulfilled in your ears,” (Luke 4:21). Jesus Christ bore witness of Himself.

Finally, Heavenly Father bore witness of Christ’s divine identity to us. What greater witness of Christ is there than God?

Heavenly Father knew that we would need witnesses of the Savior, and He gave them to us. However, it is up to us to believe. If we don’t believe in Christ, it isn’t because we lack a witness. It is because we lack faith.

Truly, Jesus Christ is the Son of God. I hope that as you study and ponder the words of the scriptures, especially during this Christmas season, you will come to know this, too. I have felt that this is true. I hope to have a stronger relationship with Jesus Christ. I hope that soon, I will have a bank of my own experiences that serve as witnesses in my life of the Savior. However, as I struggle to come closer to Jesus Christ, I’m glad that there are so many others who have borne testimony. I’m grateful that I’m not expected to arrive on the understanding of Christ’s identity alone.

***
To see more of the “If Handel had been a Mormon” scripture chain, please click here.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Angela

     /  February 6, 2010

    But what of the Holy Ghost?

    Reply
  2. Angela,

    You’re right! It looks like I need to find one more example, since it is the Holy Ghost that actually speaks to our spirits, thereby giving us as testimony.

    Thanks for reading and commenting!
    😀

    -catania

    Reply
  1. If Handel had been a Mormon « thatgoodpart

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 262 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
