Christ’s Miracles

And after he had said these words, he said unto me: Look! And I looked, and I beheld the Son of God going forth among the children of men; and I saw many fall down at his feet and worship him. …

And I looked and beheld the Redeemer of the world, of whom my father had spoken; and I also beheld the prophet who should prepare the way before him. And the Lamb of God went forth and was baptized of him; and after he was baptized, I beheld the heavens open, and the Holy Ghost come down out of heaven and abide upon him in the form of a dove.

And I beheld that he went forth ministering unto the people, in power and great glory; …

…and I beheld the Lamb of God going forth among the children of men. And I beheld multitudes of people who were sick, and who were afflicted with all manner of diseases, and with devils and unclean spirits; and the angel spake and showed all these things unto me. And they were healed by the power of the Lamb of God; and the devils and the unclean spirits were cast out.” – 1 Nephi 11:24, 27-28, 31

“For behold, the time cometh, and is not far distant, that with power, the Lord Omnipotent who reigneth, who was, and is from all eternity to all eternity, shall come down from heaven among the children of men, and shall dwell in a tabernacle of clay, and shall go forth amongst men, working mighty miracles, such as healing the sick, raising the dead, causing the lame to walk, the blind to receive their sight, and the deaf to hear, and curing all manner of diseases.

And he shall cast out devils, or the evil spirits which dwell in the hearts of the children of men.” – Mosiah 3:5-6

“Have ye any that are sick among you? Bring them hither. Have ye any that are lame, or blind, or halt, or maimed, or leprous, or that are withered, or that are deaf, or that are afflicted in any manner? Bring them hither and I will heal them, for I have compassion upon you; my bowels are filled with mercy.

For I perceive that ye desire that I should show unto you what I have done unto your brethren at Jerusalem, for I see that your faith is sufficient that I should heal you.

And it came to pass that when he had thus spoken, all the multitude, with one accord, did go forth with their sick and their afflicted, and their lame, and with their blind, and with their dumb, and with all them that were afflicted in any manner; and he did heal them every one as they were brought forth unto him.” – 3 Nephi 17:7-9

“He doeth not anything save it be for the benefit of the world; for he loveth the world, even that he layeth down his own life that he may draw all men unto him. Wherefore, he commandeth none that they shall not partake of his salvation.

Behold, doth he cry unto any, saying: Depart from me? Behold, I say unto you, Nay; but he saith: Come unto me all ye ends of the earth, buy milk and honey, without money and without price.

Hath he commanded any that they should not partake of his salvation? Behold I say unto you, Nay; but he hath given it free for all men; …

…and he inviteth them all to come unto him and partake of his goodness; and he denieth none that come unto him, black and white, bond and free, male and female; and he remembereth the heathen; and all are alike unto God, both Jew and Gentile.” – 2 Nephi 26:24-25, 27, 33

Obviously, Christ didn’t appear to the Nephites in the Americas until after He had lived and been resurrected. We don’t have a first-hand account of the life of Jesus in the Book of Mormon, however, we have been blessed with many prophecies concerning Christ’s life.

The Nephites knew that Christ would minister unto the Jews – with the ability to heal them from their spiritual and physical infirmities. They knew that He would raise people from the dead. They also were able to experience some of His miracles first-hand when he appeared to them, shortly after His resurrection. He healed the sick, caused the deaf to hear, and the blind to see. Christ, while in the Americas, healed the afflicted.

I also love how Nephi teaches that he does nothing save it be for the benefit of the world. When Christ lived on earth, every single day was spent serving, teaching, and healing others. We can trust his gospel and His doctrine: it all centers on our happiness.

Although we don’t live as contemporaries with Christ, we are still able to experience the same miracles in our lives. In order to receive any kind of miracle, the contemporaries of Christ (both in Jerusalem and in the Americas) needed to exercise faith. The same is true now. He invites all of us to come unto Him, in faith, and partake of His infinite healing power.

Although the Book of Mormon does not have as many experiences between the Nephites and the Savior to record, we do have accounts of His life – whether through prophecy or through the record of those who saw Christ. I love studying the life of the Savior. His example is perfect. I’m always filled with happiness and hope as I study His life. I am also inspired to be a better person. I am so grateful to be blessed with both the Bible and the Book of Mormon – as they both enable me to come closer to the Savior.

***
To see the rest of the “If Handel had been a Mormon” scripture chain, please click here.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Angela

     /  December 19, 2009

    Amen to that testimony! I especially loved your comment on how the Savior does nothing save it be for the benefit of the world. Trust is the first principle in relationships. To the extent that we trust the Savior is the extent we will follow Him. Every time I see or hear of a miracle, like the one we heard in the last fast and testimony meeting or read of one in the scriptures the following passage comes to mind from Mark 2:10-11 “But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power on earth to forgive sins, (he saith to the sick of the palsy,) I say unto thee, Arise, and take up thy bed, and go thy way into thine house.” To me, every miracle that he performed or performs now is a little nudge that says, “Look, I have miraculous powers that you don’t understand, if I can do this, you can trust me to do what I said I was going to do in the beginning which is to bring you back to enjoy eternal life with me and the Father. So could you, please, trust me enough to keep the commandments?” *sigh* great miraculous tool used to ease our burdens now, assure us of the fullness of joy that awaits us and the burr in the butt to keep us on the straight and narrow. All I can say is “Wow!”

    Reply
    • I totally agree with you! Thanks for the comment.

      I remember wondering/doubting a big decision I was making. It seemed like what I was deciding to do was impossible, even though I knew that the Lord wanted me to do it. Of course, most of my decision hinged on me simply having faith in Him…I just didn’t know how everything was going to work out, and that was tough for me.
      Then, I was reminded – Heavenly Father created the entire earth. He could do the little thing that I needed – and He would. It all boiled down to me trusting Him.

      And don’t you think that this has a lot to do with parenting, too? I find that I wish my children could just understand that the reason I give them rules, etc. is because I love them. I know that if they keep the rules, they will be happy. In explaining this concept to them, I’m constantly reminded that Heavenly Father is teaching us the same thing.

      In fact, our trusting Heavenly Father and it’s relationship with obedience (even when we don’t understand the whole situation) is actually one of my most favorite of gospel concepts. (Not that I’m great at applying it. I just like thinking about it).

      anyway – thanks for the great comment! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
