Young Women’s Lesson 1-39

Tomorrow, I’m teaching the lesson on Drug Abuse in Young Women’s. By the way, I’m an Advisor in the young womens. Anyways. Overall, I feel like the lesson isn’t bad. It is pretty straight forward.

I wasn’t sure how I’d end it, and I decided I wanted to make a treat to lighten the mood, so I decided to make these sugar cookies. I think they’re kind of funny.

All of the humor aside, I actually have a pretty strong feeling about drugs. I’ve seen them ruin lives. I’ve seen more than one family member die from cigarette smoking. My grandfather had emphysema. My step-grandfather died of lung cancer.

I also had a very dear person succumb to drug abuse. He got so heavily entrenched into drug use that it destroyed the relationship I once had with him. Eventually, he left, and no one – not friends or family – heard from him for years. Thankfully, he eventually got his life together. I’m not sure how it happened. I don’t know how low he had to go before he was ready to change. However, we had expected the worst. It was a terribly difficult time, and it was all because of drugs.

Above all, I think that the danger with drugs is the loss of the companionship of the Spirit. Additionally when we choose to use drugs we give up control and freedom.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
