Missionary Challenge: 2 Nephi 26:10-15

And when these things have passed away a speedy destruction cometh unto my people; for, notwithstanding the pains of my soul, I have seen it; wherefore, I know that it shall come to pass; and they sell themselves for naught; for, for the reward of their pride and their foolishness they shall reap destruction; for because they yield unto the devil and choose works of darkness rather than light, therefore they must go down to hell.

For the Spirit of the Lord will not always strive with man. And when the Spirit ceaseth to strive with man then cometh speedy destruction, and this grieveth my soul.

And as I spake concerning the convincing of the Jews, that Jesus is the very Christ, it must needs be that the Gentiles be convinced also that Jesus is the Christ, the Eternal God;

And that he manifesteth himself unto all those who believe in him, by the power of the Holy Ghost; yea, unto every nation, kindred, tongue, and people, working mighty miracles, signs, and wonders, among the children of men according to their faith.

But behold, I prophesy unto you concerning the last days; concerning the days when the Lord God shall bring these things forth unto the children of men.

After my seed and the seed of my brethren shall have dwindled in unbelief, and shall have been smitten by the Gentiles; yea, after the Lord God shall have camped against them round about, and shall have laid siege against them with a mount, and raised forts against them; and after they shall have been brought down low in the dust, even that they are not, yet the words of the righteous shall be written, and the prayers of the faithful shall be heard, and all those who have dwindled in unbelief shall not be forgotten.” – 2 Nephi 26:10-15.

Nephi explains that after Christ comes, the Nephites will be destroyed. [They were]. The reward for such foolishness and pride is destruction – the Spirit of the Lord could no longer dwell with the people of Nephi, it didn’t take long before they were destroyed.

Often, I think that we think it is unfair for God to “punish” people. When I read this scripture, it becomes a little bit more clear. God doesn’t necessarily destroy. He doesn’t punish. He edifies and protects. However, he will not force us to be edified and protected – we must choose. If we choose to ignore him, and if we do it so often that the Spirit of the Lord can no longer dwell with us, then what happens is we are left alone. Then, it is Satan who destroys. It is Satan who punishes. And because we have rid ourselves of the protection of the Lord, we face Satan alone and powerless.

So – choose the Spirit!

The Nephites, as we know, were destroyed. In fact, all of Israel was scattered and a great apostasy filled the earth. Both Jew and Gentile must be convinced that Jesus is the Christ.

The rad thing is: Christ manifests himself to anyone. The only requirement – believing.

I believe in Christ. And He has manifest himself to me. I haven’t seen him in the flesh, but I have seen Him with my spiritual senses. I’ve felt His love. I have felt strengthened by him when in the midst of trial and difficulty. I have been the recipient of so many miraculous blessings, I often feel like it is “unfair” as my blessings are so much better and more abundant than I deserve.

I’m sure that Jesus Christ wishes to manifest Himself to more people, but first they must believe. The step before belief is where I come in – Before someone can believe, they need to hear! The Lord needs many mouthpieces. He needs servants who are willing to testify of Him.

We live in the last days, and the Lord has promised our ancient fathers that their posterity would not be forgotten. The Lord has restored the fullness of His everlasting gospel to the Earth. It is found in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I love this gospel, and I’ll show my love by sharing it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 259 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
