Missionary Challenge: 2 Nephi 2:24-29

But behold, all things have been done in the wisdom of him who knoweth all things.

Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy.

And the Messiah cometh in the fulness of time, that he may redeem the children of men from the fall. And because that they are redeemed from the fall they have become free forever, knowing good from evil; to act for themselves and not to be acted upon, save it be by the punishment of the law at the great and last day, according to the commandments which God hath given.

Wherefore, men are free according to the flesh; and call things are given them which are expedient unto man. And they are free to choose liberty and eternal life, through the great Mediator of all men, or to choose captivity and death, according to the captivity and power of the devil; for he seeketh that all men might be miserable like unto himself.

And now, my sons, I would that ye should look to the great Mediator, and hearken unto his great commandments; and be faithful unto his words, and choose eternal life, according to the will of his Holy Spirit;

And not choose eternal death, according to the will of the flesh and the evil which is therein, which giveth the spirit of the devil power to captivate, to bring you down to hell, that he may reign over you in his own kingdom. – 2 Nephi 2:24-29.

Today’s scripture is the condensed version of the Plan of Salvation-

  1. God is Wise.
  2. Adam fell that men might be.
  3. Men are here to have joy.
  4. The Messiah came to redeem us from the fall.
  5. We are free to choose:
    1. Liberty and eternal life through the Mediator.
    2. Captivity and death according to the devil.
  6. Lehi’s plea:
    1. Look to the Mediator, obey, have faith, and choose LIFE.
    2. Do not choose death.

How does this relate to Missionary Work? I’m thinking about that – and I guess it is all about agency. If i exercise my agency to go to Christ and obey His commandments, then it natrually follows that His love is stronger in my life.

As my relationship with my Savior has grown, I have felt my love for others increase. I have felt of His love for me, and I know that this love extends to all of us. I know that those whom I love can have the same blessing of happiness and peace if they choose to come to the Savior. I also know that this kind of love isn’t always apparent. It isn’t gold or glittering. It doesn’t hold the same kind of worldly value that material posessions do. It is abstract, but not fictional. I can’t assume that others know why I’m happy. I can’t assume that others know I have peace in my soul. I need to share this love with them by showing compassion, kindness, and by sharing my own testimony.

I have been blessed to know that in this life, we can make a choice: Life – liberty and happiness; or death – captivity and misery. It is simple. And the way to receiving life (I can’t imagine why anyone would choose otherwise), then we need to choose Christ.

Not everyone knows this truth. Many people are looking for life, liberty and happiness in various forms. Of course they come up short. Because I know where happiness is to be found, I need to share this information with others.

oh…ps…Because I have felt this happiness, I feel obligated to share it. I feel like it’s not really fair to keep it to myself. I feel like the best way to show my gratitude to my Savior for His atoning sacrifice is by enabling others to partake of it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Bruce Kite

     /  February 4, 2017

    I am so grateful to have come across your blog. It has contributed to my pursuit of greater faith in our Savior, and my desire to bring my loved ones to Him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
