Sharing the Gospel

Recently, the missionaries asked us to participate in a ward Missionary effort. I love missionary work. I want to go on a mission. I know that the Book of Mormon is true, and that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints contains the fullness of Christ’s gospel, yet, I still get a little scared to share it.

Regardless of my fear, our family accepted the missionary’s challenge last night.

And then, I came across the following scripture: “And ye are called to bring to pass the gathering of mine elect; for mine elect hear my voice and harden not their hearts,” (D&C 29:7).

I do not need to worry about my fears of offending others or being ridiculed. Of course I need to follow the Spirit when sharing the gospel, but I also need to remember that the Lord’s elect will hear His voice. However, I do not know exactly who the Lord’s elect are. This is why I must share the gospel liberally. As I share the gospel with others, if they are ready to hear the Lord’s voice, they will recognize the message, they will not harden their hearts, and they will accept the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

And another thing: the Book of Mormon.

– some background…I love all of the scriptures. Sometimes I think that, as Mormons, we do not know enough of the Bible. We seem well versed in the Book of Mormon, but we forget to study the Old Testament – with its prophecies, poetry, and law. We forget to study the New Testament – and it’s account of Christ as he lived on this earth. Because of these feelings, I often think that we need to try to share the gospel with others in a way they will understand – through the Bible.

And while the Bible is good, I realize that I must NOT be afraid to share the Book of Mormon! I need to remember that the purpose of the Book of Mormon is to persuade those who read it that Jesus is the Christ. Mormon teaches that the Book of Mormon is, “…to the convincing of Jew and Gentile that JESUS is the CHRIST, the ETERNAL GOD, manifesting himself unto all nations…” (Title Page of Book of Mormon). There is no other way to share the gospel. Of course the Bible is a big part of sharing the gospel. The Bible and Book of Mormon bear witness of one another, but I need not feel fear or the temptation to shy away from the Book of Mormon. Although many do not accept it as true scripture, it is probably because they haven’t read it. However, those who are elect, will recognize in its words, the very voice of the Lord.

I can share the gospel!

How about you? How do you overcome fear? Have you Do you have experiences to share – either your own conversion, or sharing the gospel with others?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Allan

     /  October 29, 2009

    Thanks for wanting to do the work, the Lord said if you have a desire to do the work then you are called to it, this work however is awesome! I have been a ward missionairy for about 18 months, I LOVE IT! if I could give you any advice, it would be to not worry about it, I is soooo much fun! love the people, care about them, pray for them, love the work, have FUN!!,share what you can and let the LORD do the rest, it is his work. don’t get disapointed, some will not hear his voice, love them anyway, but your success is in the offering.and …oh yea did I mention HAVE FUN!!!!
    Pray for the gift of charity, pray for a heart to do the work and watch some amazing things happen to your heart and life!!! Just this year we have had 6 baptisms and several families we have helped get ready go through the temple. it is amazing to watch how the Lord and His gosple can change hearts. Realy God is the one that does the work, you just get to share in the fun.
    One perspective I try to keep (and asked Heavenly Father to help me see)is many of the people we might meet, we may have known and cared deeply for and maybe even loved before we came here, they have just been blinded by the world, we have to help them get their “vision” back. NOW GO AND HAVE FUN and thanks for having the heart to do it.

    P.S.Besides just think how fun it is going to be when you have LOTS of people who care about you, and you love them, when we get to the other side of this veil, you will know their hearts and they will know yours.

    Reply
  2. chococatania

     /  October 29, 2009

    Thanks for the comment and reminder – we do need to have fun. We need to have cheeful hearts. Not only does this cheerfulness keep us uplifted even when we are rejected – I have a feeling that it attracts more people to the gospel.

    Reply
  3. I’ve just been looking through your blog, um, you are awesome.

    Reply
  4. Traci –
    Thank you so much! 🙂 (blushing)…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 264 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
