Bearing (fruit)

Spring Tree by Catania Larson

As I’ve been studying Jacob 5, a theme that keeps striking me is that of bearing good fruit.

First of all, I think that it is very obvious that we are to bear goodfruit. This concept seems to be simple to get. When we don’t bear good fruit, then we are hewn into the fire. (see Jacob 5:42; Matthew 3:10; 7:19-20.)

However, today, during my scripture study, I came across the following parable:

“A certain man had a fig tree planted in his vineyard; and he came and sought fruit thereon, and found none.
Then he said unto the dresser of the vineyard, Behold, these three years I come seeking fruit on this fig tree, and find none: cut it down; why cumbereth it the ground?
And he answering said unto him, Lord let it alone this year also, till I shall dig about it, and dung it:
And if bear fruit, well: and if not, then after that thou shalt cut it down.” (Luke 13:6-9).

We must bear good fruit. It is not enough to not bear bad fruit. We must be fruitful and productive. I guess this is like the difference between sins of omission and commission. It is obvious that those who commit sins will be judged. But how about when we omitkeeping certain commandments? I find this concept interesting – especially as I battle being productive (and not spending so much time doing worthless things like sitting around on facebook).

This concept brings to mind: “Verily I say, men should be anxiously engaged in a good cause, and do many things of their own free will, and bring to pass much righteousness; Fior the power is in them, wherein they are agents unto themselves. And inasmuch as men do good they shall in nowise lose their reward.” (D&C 58:27-28). I’ve heard this scripture so many times, and I think that I’ve always thought, If I’m engaged in a good cause, then I will not choose the wrong – I’ll be too busy doing something good ~~a la ~~ idle hands are the devil’s workshop. And while that’s true, there is so much more. I suppose it is possible for us to do nothing – as in we don’t have to be doing something good – or wicked. We could just be lazy. But when we do nothing, then we are not fruitful. We do not fulfill the measure of our creation, and the Lord looks at us, and wonders, “why am I cumbering the ground with this?”

I’m now resolving to do more – to serve, love, work, pray, study, and be the kind of woman who bears good fruit.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Chandra

     /  September 2, 2009

    I agree. You cannot stand idle while there is so much to be done. We must consider what exactly our fruits may be? I am sure there are many different answers to this question, and all are probably good, but to me I instantly think of sharing the gospel with others (there are many different ways in which this can be done so I won’t elaborate). I hope that a majority of my good fruit will be weighed by those whom I’ve shared my testimony with and sought to bring closer to Christ.

    Reply
  2. Chandra – I agree on what you say about sharing the gospel.

    And I’ve been thinking of the topic – “What are our fruits.” in fact, you’re ahead of me! That’s going to be my next post! So hopefully you’ll check back soon. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Seems to me that you bring forth lots of good fruit. Especially if you consider your husband to be your fruit. πŸ™‚ Keep up the good fruiting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
