Bearing Good Fruit – Jacob 5

Lately, I’ve been studying Jacob 5.  I’m particularly impressed with the following verse:  “And it came to pass that the Lord of th vineyard wept, and said unto the servant:  What could I have done more for my vineyard?”  (Jacob 5:41).  This idea is repeated throughout the chapter – as we see the Lord of the vineyard working so hard.  He plants the vineyard, he nourishes them, he prunes, and fertilizes them.  He does this so that he, “may preserve again good fruit thereof…” (Jacob 5:33).

Lemons I’ve thought about these particular verses and how they apply to my own life.  The Lord has planted me in good soil.  I’m incredibly blessed.  I have received blessings that I have neither earned nor deserved.  Often, I’ve felt overwhelmed by the unfairness of the situation.  Why do I receive so many blessings.  Why are there so many people who haven’t had the same opportunities.  How is it that if I was born to a family that lived 15 minutes away from me, my life would be completely different.  I know that my life isn’t random, but I often feel amazed by the idea that I have been blessed in so many ways.

And now, I’m beginning to realize something.  Just as the Lord of the vineard planted some of his vines in areas that were poor or rich spots, the Lord has allowed people to come to this earth in all types of situations.  And, I feel like Heavenly Father would explain his reasoning in the same way the Lord of the vineyard explained to His servant: “Counsel me not; I knew that it was a poor spot of ground; wherefore, I said unto thee, I have noursihed it this long time, and thou beholdest that it hath brought forth much fruit.”  (Jacob 5:22).  In other words, the Lord has planted each of us in places that will help to enable us to bring forth good fruit.  He knows us.  He knows our strengths and weaknesses.  He knows how best to provide for, prune, and nourish us.  Ultimately, he wants us to bring forth good fruit – fruit meet for repentance, so that we can come unto His Son, and through the Atonement receive eternal life.

I love to be reminded of the great love Heavenly Father has for me – and that this life – full of commandments, challenges, and difficulties – is a time for me to prepare to meet him.  Heavenly Father is concerned with our success, and our success brings him glory.   There is nothing more that he desires than to see us be happy – and he knows that happiness is only found when we fulfill the measure of our creation.  I hope to better take this message to heart.  I have been blessed.  I have been planted in rich soil.  I have had the opportunity to be nourished by good servants of God.  I have been given many talents and opportunities.  The Lord has done everything he can, and now it is up to me to bear good fruit.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 256 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
